Jennifer Coolidge Wanted David Harbour To Choke Her “Harder” During ‘We Have A Ghost’ Scenes

Where to Stream:

We Have a Ghost

Powered by Reelgood

David Harbour, who stars in the upcoming Netflix horror-comedy We Have A Ghost, appeared on Late Night With Seth Meyers this week to promote the film, and in the process, he shared some insight into his co-star Jennifer Coolidge‘s acting process. In the film, the Stranger Things actor plays a ghost named Ernest who haunts a home and becomes a viral sensation when the new owners capture him on video and post it to social media.

Coolidge plays a medium in the film, and Harbour explained that her real-life persona is every bit what you see on TV.

“She is as amazing as you think she would you be. What you see on a talk show or awards show, is that,” he told the late night host.

While discussing his scene with Coolidge in the film, he said, “We had this amazing moment where there’s this CGI thing that shoots out of my face, and it’s a hand an it strangles her. And, you know, I did it with my hand, and she was like, really pissed.”

He explained, “She stopped the take and was like, ‘David! You’ve gotta really strangle me! You gotta strangle me!'”

Jennifer Coolidge in We Have a Ghost
Photo: Netflix

“I was like, Jen, I’m not gonna murder America’s sweetheart!” he said.

“I’m glad you didn’t murder her,” Meyers responded. “You trusted your own instincts.”

We Have A Ghost premieres on Netflix on February 24. Watch Harbour’s late night appearance in the video above.