Nicole Scherzinger Sobs Over Dick Van Dyke’s ‘Masked Singer’ Reveal

Where to Stream:

The Masked Singer

Powered by Reelgood

The Masked Singer revealed a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious contestant during Wednesday night’s (Feb. 15) Season 9 premiere, sending judge Nicole Scherzinger into tears.

The disguised celebrity singing competition’s first elimination of the episode was described as “the most seasoned and decorated entertainer” who has ever been on the show. Dressed in a wild Gnome costume, the hidden performer sang “When You’re Smiling” by Billie Holiday.

Following the performance, a “captivated” Scherzinger said, “Your vocals, your voice just melted my heart. You made this entire country smile after that performance.”

While the judges guessed a slate of legendary actors from Dustin Hoffman to Robert De Niro, the man behind the Gnome was later revealed to be the one and only Dick Van Dyke.

“It was real dark in there. You couldn’t see anything,” he joked. “I just loved that they thought I was Robert De Niro. I didn’t know Robert De Niro could sing.”

Judges Robin Thicke, Ken Jeong and Jenny McCarthy completely fan-girled over the 97-year-old Mary Poppins icon. McCarthy pointed out that she was “so blown away,” while Jeong told the actor, “You are one of the reasons I got into comedy. You are comedy.”

Meanwhile, Scherzinger couldn’t hold in her emotions as she began to sob.

“I love you so much. We love you. The whole world loves you so much,” she gushed. “It’s an honor to have you on our show. I can’t believe you’re here, I’m trying to play it cool. You look so gorgeous, you look so handsome.”

In response to the singer’s emotional reaction, Van Dyke, who said he’s “had that happen” before, later told Entertainment Weekly, “You know what is fun now? We’re on our third generation and I would get little kids who will see me and say, ‘It’s Bert!’ And I love that, that kids are just discovering those movies now. And it’s great to be on a third generation.”

Van Dyke wrapped up his stint on the show by performing the iconic Mary Poppins song, “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.”

The Masked Singer airs on Wednesday nights at 8 p.m. ET on FOX.