‘Star Trek: Picard’s Ed Speleers Breaks Down Playing [SPOILER]’s Son

Where to Stream:

Star Trek: Picard

Powered by Reelgood

Ed Speleers is having a big month. First, YOU Season 4 premiered on Netflix, introducing the world to Rhys Montrose, an enigmatic author opposite main character Joe Goldberg (Penn Badgley) who quickly became the second most important character in the narrative. And then, just last week, fans of Star Trek were surprised to discover that Speleers’ mysterious character on Star Trek: Picard was none other than the previously unmentioned son of Beverly Crusher (Gates McFadden). And on this week’s episode, “Disengage” — spoilers past this point — his father is none other than Jean-Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart) himself.

“It feels like quite – I’ve gotta stop using the word ‘surreal,'” Speleers told Decider. “I need to find another terminology for this because it, at the moment it just, it feels odd. I suppose for a long time I’ve been striving to get the opportunity to play certain types of roles, and to have two of what I feel are very complex characters certainly on the page coming out at the same time is a real, is a real delight.”

It’s particularly “surreal,” as Speleers puts it (or rather would not put it), because the actor burst on the scene in 2006 as the titular role in fantasy epic hopeful Eragon. He’s since had major roles on shows like Downton Abbey, where he played the irascible footman Jimmy Kent for several seasons; and on Outlander, as antagonist Stephen Bonnet. But even with these high profile roles, February 2023 has been a wild time for the 34 year old actor. And with YOU Season 4, Part 2 coming next month on March 9, as well as many more surprising twists and turns every week on Picard Season 3 (no spoilers here, but it’s going to get wild), chances are Speleers will continue to have the biggest few months of his career.

To find out more about this, what he took from Patrick Stewart’s performance, working opposite villain Amanda Plummer, and whether he’s talked to his new half-brother Wil Wheaton, read on.

Decider: Between the Picard’s son revelation on Star Trek and the reveal of Rhys over on You, this is sort of your month of “my character has a surprising, deep connection to the main character.” What was it like snagging key roles on two such different projects that – for both – you can’t really talk about without spoiling?

Ed Speleers: The snagging of the roles has been a complete delight. It feels like quite–I’ve gotta stop using the word “surreal.” I need to find another terminology for this because it, at the moment it just, it feels odd. I suppose for a long time I’ve been striving to get the opportunity to play certain types of roles, and to have two of what I feel are very complex characters certainly on the page coming out at the same time is a real, is a real delight. I feel incredibly lucky that I’ve been given the opportunity to do these parts. But the secrecy, that’s sort of, in some ways that’s a fun part because it allows…Certainly when shooting Picard, because there was literally no information out there at all, I could just fully focus on the job at hand and just try and do that to the best of my ability. With You, slightly different, but being part of that, there’s a secret element. It means.. I’m quite excited to see all the little nuggets and Easter eggs drop as the season goes along because I feel that both parts actually, you think you found out one little thing about them, and then there’s something else, and then there’s something else. And I feel that–actually–you know, both parts in both tv shows that’s happening, so again, I just really have been very, very lucky. I don’t know what I’m going to do after this when after all these moments passed, all these episodes are out and everyone’s seen everything and then I’m, I feel like there’s going to be a big crash mentally. [Laughs]

ed speleers as Jack Crusher on Star Trek Picard
James Dimmock/Paramount+

I have a million more questions about the second part of You, but to talk specifically about Picard: we get the reveal that Jack Crusher is Picard’s son at the end of this episode. Even though he spent his whole life away, Riker (Jonathan Frakes) clearly sees something in him of Picard. So what, if anything, did you take from Patrick Stewart’s performance towards this character? 

Interesting. To be honest, I didn’t only study mannerisms and I did look a lot at older episodes, I was given a big list by Terry Matalas of, he called it “Star Trek University,” and it was a big list of TNG episodes and films dating back to Wrath of Khan with Kirk all the way through to First Contact. I suppose what I took from Picard, what I felt was a similar act in Jack was they’re… They are both very tenacious. Certainly, you know Picard in his early years in particular would make–and that’s, to be fair, I say that–he’s making similar decisions now. If he feels he needs to tackle something head on, he will do it, and he doesn’t really mind what gets in the way. And even as an Admiral in Starfleet he’s still doing that. And I think although Jack is doing it on the other side of the law, potentially, he’s definitely dealing in the criminal underworld at times, there’s some nefarious things going on there, he’s still doing it based on a sense of morality in his own right. And a sense of purpose. For me, for Jack, it was very much trying to do some good in a godless universe, essentially. That’s something that they bonded over, and they don’t realize they’re bonding over it, but they’re making decisions because they’re both fearless, they’re both willing and they’re both dogged in their approach, which is an interesting commonality. 

That comes through in one of my favorite scenes of the episode, where Jack is in the detainment center and Picard is questioning him about his intentions. What I got from that scene is Picard trying to figure him out, but Jack – or you – almost screaming behind your eyes; “I’m your son! I’m your son! Why don’t you know I’m your son?” What were you playing in that scene actually, and what was it like working that out with Patrick Stewart?

I had the pleasure of having quite a few charged scenes with Patrick and that being the first of many. We shot that quite early on as well. Patrick and I didn’t discuss at great length that scene. He had a few questions and a few changes he wanted in terms of script, but we just played it and it was our first time of going toe-to-toe, it was almost as if we wanted to poke and challenge each other. Yeah, interesting you pick up on that. I feel that that was, there was certainly intention to have that effect in the…The thing about Jack is: Jack, he’s having to think so quickly in this time. And he’s having to understand so much about himself and unpick it all in such a short amount of time. And he’s hurting. And the anger, and as you say “the screaming from behind the eyes,” cause the anger, if you strip away anger, the reason it’s quite often what’s driving that is hurt, and certainly for Jack. And I think there’s a lot of pain, and I just feel that that was something that needed to be explored. It gets explored time and time again, hopefully in refreshing ways throughout the season. So yeah, I feel that that was definitely at the core. 

ed speleers as Jack Crusher on Star Trek Picard
Trae Patton/Paramount+

Amanda Plummer’s villain Vadic gets this great introduction this episode where she’s terrifying everybody just through a viewscreen. Did you get to work with her one-on-one at all? Or is it all screens? I don’t know if that’s getting too much into spoilers, but just, in general, what does she bring as a foil for Jack and the rest of the crew?

I don’t think it’s going into spoilers to say I had some one-on-ones with her. She’s such a dynamic actor. All actors try and find ways to refresh a scene, find new ways to open up dialogue in a way they haven’t before. Something I try and find a way to do, but I have never seen anybody [do], and she does, she puts intonations on words you don’t think are possible, and she has no fear to do it. Every single time as an actor it then puts you on your toes. You don’t know when she’s gonna do what, and she’s masterful at it. And she knows how to just bring it into the smallest, the smallest detail and nuance. She’s incredible. Like [a] really, really incredible actor. The thing that really sets her apart for me, is with it she’s like the kindest, almost almost meekest but just gentlest soul, with such a wry little humor as well. And what she does she rips it, she rips up the playbook in a scene. 

You’ve already got some next, Next Generation here now that we know you’re Picard’s son. We’ve have Geordi’s daughter, Ashlei Sharpe Chestnut as Sidney LaForge, onboard. Would you be up for a Next-Gen Babies spinoff? 

100%. Like, genuinely, I would. This role, it meant so much to me at the time, both going into work physically every day, but also just emotionally. I would love to play Jack Crusher for a very long time. 

Real quick, have you checked in with Wil Wheaton to see how he feels about being your half brother? 

He seems pretty happy about the situation. I have checked in on him. I had a lengthy chat with him, which, I’m sure, will be seen quite soon. Hopefully. 

Alright, well very cool. Ed, thank you so much for jumping on. When the rest of this season, and also You Part 2 drops, that’s going to be like a bomb going off. I’m excited to see how fans react. 

It’s pretty bonkers, that second part.

Yeah.

It’s crackers.

This interview has been edited for clarity and length.

New episodes of Star Trek: Picard premiere Thursdays on Paramount+.