Jenna Ortega ‘Devastated’ to Miss ‘You’ Season 4: Here’s Why

Jenna Ortega has become a household name over the past year thanks to her starring role in Netflix‘s Wednesday, but she hasn’t forgotten about the roles that came before. While doing press on the red carpet at the SAG Awards, Ortega told Entertainment Tonight that she was “devastated” when she realized she wouldn’t be able to participate in You Season 4 due to a scheduling conflict.

In a recent interview, showrunner Sera Gamble said that she wanted to bring Ortega’s character, Ellie Alves, back for the fourth season of You.

“We wanted to bring Ellie back and we heard, ‘Oh, Jenna is doing some show,'” Gamble said. That show, of course, was Wednesday, the spinoff of The Addams Family for which Ortega received a Golden Globe nomination.

When ET red carpet host Denny Directo mentioned Gamble’s desire to have Ortega in You Season 4, Ortega responded, “Oh, I was devastated!”

She added that You was “easily one of my favorite sets that I’ve ever, ever been on. I was so devastated when they reached out because I miss Ellie and I had been wanting to go back to Ellie for such a long time, but I was in Romania shooting Wednesday and I couldn’t travel back and forth. There was just no way that it could have worked out…I tried!”

Jenna Ortega in You

Not to worry though, if You gets another season, Gamble says there’s room for Ortega.”We have ideas for Ellie if her schedule allows her to visit us again,” she says.

You Seasons 1-4 are now streaming on Netflix.