Hayden Panettiere Gets Emotional Over Late Brother While Promoting ‘Scream VI’ on ‘Good Morning America’

Where to Stream:

Good Morning America

Powered by Reelgood

Hayden Panettiere got emotional over her late brother while appearing on today’s broadcast of Good Morning America to promote the forthcoming release of Scream VI

At the end of their interview, cohost Michael Strahan told the actor, “Before we go, we want to just tell you we’re sorry about the passing of your brother Jansen.” 

Panettiere nodded and placed her hand on her chest, telling him, “Thank you.” Strahan went on to say, “We send our love and condolences to your family.”

The actor grew visibly emotional as she shared, “He’s right here with me.”

Panettiere‘s younger brother, who was also an actor, passed away suddenly on Feb. 19 from cardiomegaly, in addition to aortic valve complications. Last week, Panettiere and her family released a lengthy statement, writing, “Jansen’s heart could be seen in his eyes, and his charm in his brilliant, engaging smile; his soul in his masterful and revealing paintings, and the joy of life in his dry wit.”

During the actor’s talk show appearance, she also spoke about the importance of taking a break from acting for her health. Panettiere said, “I did have to take those four years off, and thank God I did.” She continued, “I had to work on myself, my mental health and my physical health, spiritual health.” 

However, that didn’t dampen Panettiere’s excitement when she received the opportunity to return to the famed horror franchise. “When [Scream] popped up and it came back around, I was like, ‘I want to be part of that again.’” 

Panettiere starred in 2011’s Scream 4 as Kirby Reed, a character who was left with an uncertain demise.”I hoped that Kirby was still alive. I willed her back into existence,” the actor said, explaining that she called the creators during the early stages of production to express her interest. 

Watch Hayden Panettiere’s full interview in the video above. Scream VI premieres in theaters on March 10.