‘RHOSLC’ Star Jen Shah Pens Groveling Note From Prison: “I Feel Like I Don’t Belong Here”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Salt Lake City

Powered by Reelgood

Just weeks after Real Housewives of Salt Lake City star Jen Shah reported to prison, she released a lengthy Instagram post detailing a first-hand account of the “horrible” day she had to surrender.

The reality star, who was handed a six-and-a-half year sentence after being found guilty of partaking in a telemarking scheme, wrote that she “could not breathe” and that her “hands went numb” as she, her husband Sharrieff, and her youngest son Omar made their way to Bryan Federal Prison Camp (FPC).

“I knew I was having an anxiety attack,” Shah recalled, before explaining that she had to pull over to connect with her oldest son, Sharrieff Jr., via FaceTime, where she said she “cried so hard.”

Before Shah got out of the car to surrender, she said, ” I leaned over to the seat next to me and hugged Omar as tight as I could and cried as I buried my head in his chest and held him as tight as I could not wanting to face reality that this would be the last time I hugged him for a while.”

When it came time to say goodbye to her husband of nearly 30 years, Shah remembered that she was “hugging him as if holding him harder would somehow erase this horrible nightmare.”

She added, “Having seconds to tell your husband how much you love him and hoping he truly understands the depths of your love while officers stand there silently urging you to move quickly was the most horrible experience.” 

Elsewhere in the journal entry, Shah revealed that she had to give up her “release plan, contacts list, Quran and driver’s license.” However, she felt “instantly isolated” when her contact list was taken away as she did not have the “mental bandwidth” to remember her loved ones’ information.

As she walked away, she said her husband and her son were “both still crying.”

“I turn to get one last glance at my husband and son,” Shah said. “I wave at them for the last time before I enter the doors. My entire body is numb, I feel like my life is ending, and I am truly scared.”

She concluded, “I feel physically sick. I feel like I don’t belong here. I thought I could do this but I’ve decided I can’t. I want to go home right now, but I know that is impossible.”