‘The View’ Backs Gwyneth Paltrow After Diet Controversy: “Rather Have Someone Say to Me, ‘I Starve Myself’”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

The View chimed in on the internet’s latest favorite topic today, sharing their thoughts on Gwyneth Paltrow‘s now-infamous diet video. After the actor went viral last week for revealing what she eats in a day (including bone broth and vegetables) she released a follow-up video defending her words — and the women of The View largely stood by her.

“People thought she was giving them advice, and she’s saying that’s not what she was doing,” Whoopi Goldberg said, referring to Paltrow’s more recent statement, in which she clarified, “This is not to say that I eat this way all day every day,” and insisted, “I eat full meals.”

Alyssa Farah Griffin admitted that even as a huge fan of Paltrow and her Goop brand, she initially felt “uncomfortable” hearing about her detox diet.

“We put so much pressure on people to feel like they need to look a certain way, and for many of us, your body type is not that way,” Griffin said. “You could eat literally just bone broth and you’re not going to be tiny. I didn’t like that it seemed prescriptive and I’m glad that she cleared it up.

“I know her intent was certainly like, her whole career has been about helping women be healthy,” she continued. “But I was uncomfortable watching it. It felt like I was judging myself over how much I eat listening to how little she eats.”

Sara Haines was also accepting of Paltrow’s words, pointing out to the panel that the actress only offered up her regimen after being asked for it.

“I think the biggest thing here is, Gwyneth was asked what she does, and I’d rather have someone say to me, ‘I starve myself and I eat bone broth to look this way,’ than someone that’s like, ‘Oh my god, I eat anything I want.’ Because to me, that’s what feeds the dysfunction, and I don’t expect Gwyneth Paltrow to be above the dysfunction that most people in this society suffer from.”

She added, “I took it as, this is what she does, and I like that transparency,” as Sunny Hostin said, “I liked it too,” and Griffin agreed it was better to be honest “than lying about it, which a lot of celebrities do.”

Ana Navarro, however, brushed aside the diet talk to bring up Paltrow’s mention of rectal ozone therapy, asking incredulously, “what is that?” before comparing the practice to Eddie Murphy’s “Boogie In Your Butt.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.