‘Love Is Blind’ Mean Girl Micah Lussier Apologizes for Behavior: “I’m Sorry I’ve Triggered So Many of You”

Where to Stream:

Love is Blind

Powered by Reelgood

Micah Lussier quickly made a name for herself on the latest season of Love Is Blind. The contestant spent a majority of the first five episodes gossiping with her pod BFF Irina Solomonova and even flirting with another person’s fiancé, rather than focusing on the show’s sole purpose: to find love. 

And now, it seems that Lussier has seen all of the comments on social media calling her out for her mean girl behavior.  The contestant on the Netflix reality hit took to her Instagram Story to apologize for behaving in an “immature” manner. 

Lussier claimed that she has “apologized privately to the people that were hurt on the show” because of her actions, and added that she would also like to apologize to the public.

“An emotional immaturity was shown and I will grow from it,” she wrote. 

Lussier added, “To the viewers I’ve hurt. I’m sorry I’ve triggered so many of you with my behavior. Seeing that person on the screen would make me feel the same anger.”

As a viewer who was left feeling irate – and frankly, confused – by Lussier’s actions, her choice of the word “trigger” is also baffling. Judging by the online comments and my personal viewing experience, people weren’t “triggered” by her behavior, they were rightfully disgusted by it. The years of women tearing other women down has far surpassed us and, also, never boded well on Love Is Blind.

Previous contestants like Shaina Hurley and Jessica Batten have received vitriol for their poor attitudes on the series (and they were nothing compared to Lussier and Solomonova), and male contestants are often branded as “villains” for mistreating their love interests and criticizing their looks

Behaving as such goes against the objective of the reality show, which is to find love in a unconventional – albeit test-tubey – way. Closing oneself off to the opportunity or purposefully sabotaging another contestant’s engagement is the antithesis of the show, unlike its competitors, such as Selling Sunset and the gaggle of Bravo shows, whose selling point is simply the drama. (Another issue: Lussier doesn’t even have the unhinged-ness of Batten, or the bite and allure of Christine Quinn, or even the calculated ruthlessness of Regina George, she is just plain, old boring-mean.)

In her statement, Lussier continued to explain that she has turned her comments off on Instagram to protect her mental health. “It has always been something I’ve struggled with, and I know I can not better myself if I’m more unwell mentally,” she wrote. 

The Love Is Blind contestant concluded, “I hope you understand that I am taking accountability privately. I promise to do better in the future.”

Earlier this week, Love Is Blind alum Natalie Lee accused Lussier of not taking the experience seriously. “I did hear from some insider sources that at least Micah isn’t very genuine in terms of how her relationship with Paul [Peden] and her intentions to really find a partner,” Lee said on her Out of the Pods podcast. 

She added, “It’s hard seeing really bad behavior on TV because you know that there’s cameras around,” and suggested that Lussier is “trying to win” for more “screen time.”

Love Is Blind is currently streaming on Netflix.