Jay Leno Jokes About Getting A Third Face and A “Brand New Ear” After String of Motor Vehicle Accidents

Where to Stream:

Jay Leno’s Garage

Powered by Reelgood

Jay Leno has a guy for everything – including his face.

Recently, the comedian has had a string of bad luck when it comes to motor vehicles. Leno was hospitalized last November after being injured in a garage fire when one of his cars erupted into flames and shortly after, he fell off his motorcycle, landing himself a broken collarbone, two broken ribs, and two cracked kneecaps.

Now, he has told Dana Carvey and David Spade on their Fly on the Wall podcast about his back-to-back facial reconstructions. 

Leno shared, “They did it in eight days. I missed two shows.”

He continued to tell the hosts, “Now, I’ve got a broken collarbone, I’ve got two busted ribs, and I’ve got two cracked knee-caps because I got clotheslined on my motorcycle.”

When Spade and Carvey pressed for more details about the second accident, Leno joked, “You’re a 72-year-old guy and an 83-year-old motorcycle. What could go wrong?”

Recounting the situation, the television host said that he noticed his motorcycle was “dripping gas” and decided to turn around in a parking lot where a man had hung an unmarked wire. Blinded by the sun, Leno said, “Boom, it just hit me. It cut my face again.”

Without skipping a beat, he continued with: “So I called my face guy.” 

Leno continued,“I go, ‘Listen, you know the face, you gave me that new face? I gotta get it fixed.’” After telling the person about his second incident, he “drove up there” and left with a third face. He proclaimed on the podcast, “This is a brand new ear!” 

After being met with confusion, Leno explained, “When you get burned in a fire, ears are like paper. It just goes up – like boom.” He stated that “a bag of [skin] grafts” was used for his reconstructions, which “worked out great.”

This isn’t the first time Leno has gushed about his new look. Earlier this month, he appeared on The Kelly Clarkson Show and said, “You’d think there’d be a zipper here or something, but no. This is like a brand-new face. Only for the second time in my career am I the new face of comedy. I got it once in the ’80s and now I get it again.”

Following the first incident, Leno spent 10 days at Los Angeles’ Grossman Burn Center for treatment.