‘American Idol’ Contestant Leaves Early After Katy Perry Was Accused of Mom-Shaming Her: “My Heart’s at Home”

Where to Stream:

American Idol

Powered by Reelgood

Despite winning over the masses, American Idol contestant Sara Beth Liebe exited the competition early to return home to her three children because she felt like she wasn’t fit for showbiz. Liebe’s abrupt departure comes after Katy Perry made an ill-received joke about her being a young mom during her audition, which she has since called “hurtful” and “embarrassing.”

On Sunday’s (April 2) episode of the ABC reality hit, Liebe performed The Police’s “Roxanne,” which she admitted “went a lot better” than she thought it would. 

However, at the end of her song, the contestant delivered some bad news to the applauding judges.

“This opportunity is really rad, but this is actually going to be my last performance, because my heart’s at home. I’m gonna get home to my babies. They kind of need me,” she said.

Liebe thanked the judges, who responded with confusion. Lionel Richie asked, “What just happened? She’s going to leave? What’s happening?”

The contestant darted off the stage, despite Perry seeming confident that she wasn’t actually going to make an early departure. 

In the latter half of the episode, Liebe was brought back to the stage with a handful of other contestants, who were told that they would be advancing to the next round. After the group was dismissed, she stayed behind at Perry’s request. The “Daisies” singer told her, “You’ve opened a door you thought you’d never open, and you got a yes. You may get another yes in the future. Don’t give up.”

Liebe responded, “I appreciate you” and received applause from the audience. 

The contestant opened up about her experience to the cameras backstage, saying, “I’m really humbled and grateful, and Katy had some really nice things to say. It would be nice if my kids were a little older. I understand how big of an opportunity this is.” 

She added, “I still kind of want to get home. I am sure when I get home, I will regret it and be like, ‘Man, you should have stayed.'”

Before her performance, Liebe admitted that she felt like she’s “not cut out for show business.”

Last month, Liebe auditioned for the show with the songs “You Know I’m No Good” by Amy Winehouse and “Benny and the Jets” by Elton John. The singer received two “yes” votes from Perry and Bryan, despite having revealed that her musical experience is just “karaoke with friends.” 

During the audition, Perry received a lot of flack for her snarky comments, telling the 25-year-old mother-of-three that she’s been “laying on the table too much” and singing isn’t her dream. 

The following week, Liebe took to social media to address the comments, which many have likened to mom-shaming. “At the start of my audition before I sang, I mentioned that I had three children and was a young mother, and Katy Perry made a ‘joke’ that wasn’t super kind,” she explained.

“I think that women supporting and uplifting other women is so cool and I think that mom shaming is super lame,” the singer continued. “And I think that it’s hard enough to be a mom, and it’s hard enough to be a woman.”

As of now, Liebe continues to sing and show off her other musical talents – like playing guitar and piano – on her personal social media accounts, where she recently released an original song called “Last October”. 

Last night, she posted a response to her big American Idol departure, telling fans, “I took a chance on something big and said yes to a huge opportunity that was presented to me, and while it may not have been for me – in the process [I] found myself again.” 

Liebe also revealed that she was scouted to audition for the show.