Neil Diamond Says He’s “Come to Accept” His Parkinson’s Diagnosis During Moving Interview on ‘CBS Sunday Morning’

Where to Stream:

CBS Sunday Morning

Powered by Reelgood

Neil Diamond opened up about battling Parkinson’s disease on CBS Sunday Morning. The singer appeared on the April 3 broadcast of the news program and shared that he has “accepted” his diagnosis.

In 2018, Diamond announced his diagnosis of the brain disorder and immediately retired, subsequently canceling the final leg of his 50th anniversary world tour. The “Sweet Caroline” singer has made a few brief returns to the stage since — including one in celebration of the opening night of the Broadway musical, A Beautiful Noise, based on his life — but has mostly maintained a low profile in recent years. 

In an interview with CBS Sunday Morning, Diamond said that he was in denial of his diagnosis, but has accepted it within “the last few weeks.”

He shared, “This is the hand that God’s given me, and I have to make the best of it.” Describing his new outlook, Diamond added, “Somehow,  a calm has moved into the hurricane of my life and things have gotten very quiet.” 

The singer expressed his preference for this change, saying “I like myself better.” He said, “The beat goes on and it will go on long after I’m gone.”

Diamond also shared that singing can be a therapeutic process for him. “I’ve been doing it for 50 years and I enjoy what happens inside you when you sing. I feel good. It’s like all the systems of my mind and my body are working as one.”

He told the CBS interviewer, “I’ve had a pretty amazing life. It’s true. I wasn’t always able to look back on it and be comfortable. I think all that good stuff is starting to come into my life.”

He credited that optimism to his decision not to “fight” Parkinson’s disease, explaining, “There’s no getting away from it. You can’t just say, ‘Okay, enough already. Let’s get back to life.’ It doesn’t work like that. But I’ve come to accept what limitations I have and still have great days.” 

The top-charting artist has released many hits throughout his career, which began in the 1960s. A few of his popular songs include “I’ve Been This Way Before,” “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers,” “Heartlight” and “Sweet Caroline.”

Diamond made his film debut in The Jazz Singer, as lead character Jess Robin, and went on to make appearances in Saving Silverman and Keeping Up with the Steins. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2011 and received the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2018.

Watch Neil Diamond’s full appearance on CBS Sunday Morning in the video above.