‘American Idol’ Contestant Sara Beth Says She’s “Not Even Mad” About Katy Perry’s Mom-Shaming Comment

Where to Stream:

American Idol

Powered by Reelgood

Former American Idol contestant Sara Beth Liebe has denied being upset about Katy Perry’s mom-shaming comments, despite making an early exit from the competition.

According to Page Six, Liebe posted a video on her Instagram Story on Tuesday (Apr. 4) talking about her experience. “If you watch my videos, you’d know that I’m not even mad. I’m just trying to do music,” she said.

Liebe continued to share that her decision to leave the reality hit was “not a ploy” and she’s “so over” people saying she only did it for her “15 minutes of fame or whatever.”

She went on to slam the ABC show, saying it was “a bit lame” that her standing ovations were edited out during a performance. 

Earlier this week, the former contestant exited the competition to return home to her three children. Her abrupt departure comes after Katy Perry made a joke about her being a young mom during her audition, which she previously called “hurtful” and “embarrassing.”

Announcing her exit during Hollywood Week, Liebe told the judges, “This opportunity is really rad, but this is actually going to be my last performance, because my heart’s at home. I’m gonna get home to my babies. They kind of need me.”

Liebe went on to say, “I’m really humbled and grateful, and Katy had some really nice things to say. It would be nice if my kids were a little older. I understand how big of an opportunity this is.” She suspected that she may regret the decision once she’s home.

Now, the singer continues to show off her musical talents on her personal social media accounts, where she recently released an original song. She addressed her departure with a statement on Instagram, writing, “I took a chance on something big and said yes to a huge opportunity that was presented to me, and while it may not have been for me – in the process [I] found myself again.”

American Idol airs on Sunday nights at 8/7c on ABC.