Scarlett Johansson Explained Why She Stays off of Social Media: “My Ego Is Too Fragile”

Even Scarlett Johansson has fallen victim to TikTok’s For You page.

The Marvel actress recently opened up about why she has officially sworn off of social media, and her reasoning may strike close to home for many.

In an interview on The Skinny Confidential Him & Her Podcast, Johansson said she used Instagram for just three days before she realized it was taking a toll on her mental health.

“I, honestly, am too fragile a person to have social media,” she admitted. “I can’t. My ego’s too fragile.”

She later added, “I have enough anxiety.”

Johansson explained that she stopped herself after she found herself becoming strangely invested in other peoples’ lives on social media.

“I spent 20 minutes looking at somebody’s Instagram page who worked for a friend of mine,” she said. “Like, now I know you have a pit bull and two daughters and you live in Burbank. I was like, what? I just wasted 17 minutes of time. I now feel like I should move to California, get this specific dog, and change my life in all these ways.”

She explained, “I felt so bad, like I was missing out on this random person’s life. I was like, I can’t do this… I have so much anxiety about other things, I can’t.”

While Johansson is no longer on social media, she says she enjoys making “terrible videos” for her skincare company’s TikTok page, which boasts over 498,000 followers.

TikTok’s dangerously addictive For You page has also kept the actress from using it in her spare time. “I mean, it’s definitely fun,” she said. “Anytime I see it in the office, I then become a three-year-old with their mom’s phone where I’m completely absorbed into it.”

Johansson is set to appear in Wes Anderson’s 2023 film Asteroid City after taking a brief hiatus from acting.

She is also attached to a star-studded romantic comedy from Nancy Meyers, which is rumored to have a budget north of $130 million.