Russell Crowe Feels “Jealous” About Upcoming ‘Gladiator 2’ Movie

Where to Stream:

Gladiator (2000)

Powered by Reelgood

When Gladiator was released in 2000, Russell Crowe‘s life changed for the better. The actor reflected on the impact the movie had on his career and revealed that he feels “jealous” over the sequel, which is set to premiere in 2024.

In an interview with Collider, Crowe stated that he doesn’t know many details about the sequel despite the original director Ridley Scott returning to helm the project.  

“I don’t know where they’re going to go with it. I’m sure [there have] been things on [Scott’s] mind for the last 24 years that he thinks he can do better,” he said. 

Crowe continued to praise the director’s involvement, calling it “one of the positives” about the new installment. He shared that Ridley is “going to want to go back into that world and create something [on] the same level of spectacle as the first one.”

The actor continued, “I mean, look, the only thing that I really feel about it is slightly jealous, you know? Because I was a much younger man, obviously, and it was a huge experience in my life.”

Crowe added, “It’s something that changed my life, really. It changed the way people regarded me and what I do for a living, and, you know, I’ve been very lucky to be involved in lots of big movies, but the legs on that film are incredible. Here it is, it’s 2023, and we made that film in 1999.” 

He praised the timelessness of the historical epic, saying “I guarantee you, somewhere around the world tonight, Gladiator is going to be showing on primetime TV. And you don’t always get that kind of longevity with every film you do, so, it obviously holds a special place in my heart.”

While few details are known about the sequel, it is set to star Paul Mescal in the leading role, along with Denzel Washington and Barry Keoghan

David Scarpa, from The Day the Earth Stood Still, wrote the screenplay. 

Before starring in Gladiator, Crowe already had a successful career, having appeared in The Insider, Romper Stomper, The Quick and the Dead and L.A. Confidential. He won his first Oscar for portraying Maximus Decimus Meridius in Gladiator, taking home the gold for Best Actor.

That same year, the movie won Best Picture, Best Costume Design, Best Special Effects and Best Sound.