Chris Evans Admits He “Avoided” Hosting ‘SNL’ “Like The Plague”: “I’m Not A Funny Person”

Where to Stream:

Saturday Night Live

Powered by Reelgood

Chris Evans just broke our hearts.

The Ghosted actor commended his co-star Ana de Armas for trying her hand at hosting Saturday Night Live this coming Saturday on April 15. But could the actor who’s made his own name in comedy and action films see himself hosting SNL? Apparently not.

“I’ve avoided hosting SNL like the plague for years now just because I’m so scared. It’s terrifying to me,” he admitted in an interview with ET.

“To me, it would just be one of those things that every single night I would wake up in a cold sweat,” he said. “A cameo sounds great, that’s perfect. In and out… get your toes wet.

“But hosting, I tip my hat to her. She’s going to be amazing,” Evans continued. “But it would provide a lot of sleepless nights for me.”

Well, if we ever wondered why the Captain America star never appeared on the show, now we know why. It seems like the prospect of hosting SNL is a big source of anxiety for the actor.

“I’m not a funny person. Maybe I only feel that because I have very, very funny friends who once told me I’m not a funny person,” he said. “I just know how I would feel… it would just be an everyday anxiety, constant regret. Why did I do this? I could have been comfortable at my house, in my bed, not worrying about this.”

This is difficult to believe considering Evans got his start in a series of comedies and rom-coms during the early 2000s before he became Captain America. He may be an action star now, but his performances in Not Another Teen Movie and Scott Pilgrim vs. The World hint that there’s a comedian in there somewhere.

Pedro Pascal got to show a very different side of his acting skills when he hosted SNL this February. Let’s hope Evans has a change of heart so we can see the same from him.

De Armas will be hosting SNL this Saturday, April 15, with musical guest Karol G.

Evans and de Armas’ new film Ghosted premieres on Apple TV+ on April 21.