‘Today’ Host Sheinelle Jones Fulfilled Her Dream of Performing on Stage With Janet Jackson: “Absolutely Magical”

Where to Stream:

The Today Show

Powered by Reelgood

The Today Show host Sheinelle Jones got to fulfill a lifelong dream when she joined pop star Janet Jackson on stage during her “Together Again” tour this weekend.

On Sunday (April 16), the musician made good on an invitation she extended to the talk show host in December 2022. Jones got to dance on stage with the superstar during her encore performance of “Together Again.”

“It was surreal, one of the best days of my life,” she said of the experience, per Today.

The Today Show aired a segment about the performance during Monday’s (April 17) broadcast, and her co-hosts did not hold back when hyping up her stellar performance.

During the broadcast, Jones dished on her incredible evening with Jackson in Hollywood, Florida. She learned the choreography in just a few hours before the concert, determinedly practicing so that she could “nail it” when the time came, she said.

“If this is a dream, please just don’t wake me,” she said on Monday’s show. “It was absolutely magical.”

“Suddenly my nerves melted away and I just embraced the magic of the moment and the next thing I knew I was dancing with Janet Jackson,” Jones said.

This is not the first time she’s crossed paths with Jackson. Jones has been very transparent about being a huge fan of the star, even going so far as to dress up as her on the show for Halloween 2019. Decked out in her same outfit from the 1989 music video for “Rhythm Nation,” Jones even performed the song with a troupe of backup dancers on the show.

Much to her surprise, Jackson had sent in a video message thanking her for the tribute.

“Hey, Sheinelle,” Jackson said. “Thank you so much for thinking of me and ‘Rhythm Nation’ this year. Man, I cannot believe it’s been 30 years since that album was released, but I’m so glad you’re still enjoying it.”

Jones became emotional while watching the surprise video message. “In my old basement, with the wood-paneled walls and green carpet, I had a tape recorder of that song, and I’d put a hat on and (dance),” she explained. “I was like 12 … this was bucket list, guys!”

Sunday’s performance seems like it was truly a full-circle moment for the talk show host.

The Today Show airs on weekdays at 7 a.m. ET on NBC.