Joy Behar’s Phone Interrupts “Serious” Segment on ‘The View: “Why Does Siri Talk to Me?”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Joy Behar‘s phone has a mind of its own. The longtime co-host of The View has had a few technology blunders this season, and she added one more to her record during today’s show. While opening with an admittedly “serious” topic of the rise in mass shootings in the U.S., Behar interrupted herself when her phone went off on live TV.

“I’ll tell you something, this is like, a serious topic here,” she began. “Because it seems like—”

But Behar couldn’t get too far as the distinct voice of Siri cut right into her monologue to say, “Speed camera reported ahead.”

Sara Haines, who was seated next to her, reached over and grabbed Behar’s phone, telling her, “Oh, come on, Joy,” as Sunny Hostin asked, “Was that you again?”

Behar replied, “My phone goes off all the time. Why does Siri talk to me? I don’t ask her to speak to me.”

Haines shot back, “Because you were looking for directions and she was giving ’em to you, so,” while sliding the phone over to Behar after successfully silencing it.

Behar insisted she wasn’t to blame for Siri’s outburst, claiming, “But I turned the thing off!” with a sigh.

Back in November, Behar admitted she had “no control over technology” after her phone interrupted another live View episode. Behar, who was moderating that day in Whoopi Goldberg‘s absence, began to welcome viewers to the show, but it was hard to hear her over the music blasting from her phone.

“Oh my God, turn it off,” a flustered Behar said as she tried to mute her phone, then resorted to tapping the screen while commanding, “Stop it!”

She also pointed the finger at Siri then, wondering, “And why does Siri talk to me in the middle of nowhere?” before mimicking the Apple assistant.

“‘I don’t understand what you’re saying.’ It’s like, ‘Who’s talking to you? I’m not talking to you!'” she retorted.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.