Sherri Shepherd Got Sunny Hostin Fair Pay on ‘The View’ Using Jenny McCarthy’s Salary: “Gotta Stick Together

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Sisters gotta stand together! Sunny Hostin revealed that a former co-host on The View helped her get fair pay when she joined the show in 2016. 

Hostin appeared on Sherri, a talk show hosted by The View alum Sherri Shepherd, who was a regular on the ABC program from 2007 to 2014.  Shepherd won a Daytime Emmy Award in 2009 for her role on The View after being nominated several times. 

During Wednesday’s (May 3) episode of Sherri, Hostin promoted her new novel, Summer on Sag Harbor, and reminisced on her interactions with Shepherd upon joining The View.

“I don’t even know if you remember this, but when I signed my deal sheet you gave me a call. I don’t know how you got my number,” Hostin told Shepherd. “You were like, ‘I heard you’re coming on the show,’ and I was like, ‘Yeah, I’m joining the show.'”

Hostin recalled going over her offer with Shepherd. When asked if she received a car stipend, the legal analyst told Shepherd “No.”

“You basically went over your salary for the entire time you were there, and you also gave me [former The View co-host] Jenny McCarthy’s salary,” Hostin said.

“She got me paid,” Hostin told the audience. “I went back to my agent and was like, ‘You did not get me enough money.'”

Shepherd revealed that former The View co-host Rosie O’Donnell gave her “everybody’s salary” and she wanted to “pay it forward” to Hostin. “You’ve gotta stick together,” she said. 

Hostin recently defended the talk show after Meghan McCain, who co-hosted from 2017 to 2021, wrote a scathing article about her experience, amplifying previous comments made by O’Donnell. “I wish her well. We’re really happy on the show. We’re really a cohesive group and God bless,” Hostin said of her former colleague. 

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC. Watch Hostin’s full Sherri segment above.