Sunny Hostin Is Sorry for Saying Whoopi Goldberg Farts the Most on ‘The View’: “She Didn’t Like It”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Sunny Hostin is clearing the not-so-smelly air. The View co-host admitted she was wrong to point the finger at Whoopi Goldberg after she accused her of farting the most on their daytime talk show.

After Hostin spilled the stinky secret to Andy Cohen on Watch What Happens Live last week, she took back her comments on a recent episode of SiriusXM’s Andy Cohen Live, where she revealed Goldberg was not too pleased when Hostin said she “passes gas the most” at the Hot Topics table.

“She didn’t like it!” Hostin told Cohen, before explaining why she blamed Goldberg in the first place.

“I think the way this thing started is, Sara [Haines] drinks too much water on set,” she began, referring to her co-host, who is often seen filming with three blue View mugs in front of her.

“She’s constantly with two and three mugs. One has seltzer water, one has hot lemon water, the other one has room temperature water,” Hostin said. “I really don’t understand her water process, but she kept on moving them across the table and it made this farting noise.

“And so Whoopi, in an effort to kind of cover that up — we have coasters now — was, ‘Sorry y’all, that was me.’ And I just took her at her word! I didn’t know it was Sara with all her waters,” Hostin insisted. “She should only have one cup of water, anyway. We all have one cup and Sara has three.”

Sunny Hostin on Watch What Happens Live

Hostin lamented that her comments had morphed into “this big thing,” and told Cohen that Goldberg confronted her about it.

“Whoopi said, ‘Why did you tell everybody I fart all the time?’ And I was like, ‘Because you joke about farting all the time and I’m across from the table. I can’t smell it. I don’t know! Whoever, you know, smelt it dealt it. I had no idea.’ She said, ‘Thanks a lot,'” Hostin said, before adding, “But, I mean, Whoopi and I are very close, so she was okay. I didn’t realize it would have so much pick-up, Mr. Andy Cohen.”

He guiltily replied, “Sorry about that. That’s crazy.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC. Hear Hostin’s full chat with Cohen in the video above.