Suzanne Somers Reveals She Declined Chance to Co-Host ‘The View’ Alongside Barbara Walters

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Three’s Company star Suzanne Somers revealed she was once offered the chance to co-host The View alongside Barbara Walters, but ultimately turned the opportunity down.

“I was originally asked to be on the original ‘View’ with Barbara Walters and whoever else, and I turned it down,” she recalled on Wednesday’s (May 10) episode of Behind the Velvet Rope With David Yontef. “And everyone said, ‘Why would you turn that down? It is a national show.'”

The actress explained why she declined the opportunity, which she said she passed on because of her location and her personality.

“I said, ‘First of all, I have to live in New York. I don’t really wanna live in New York. I like the weather down here, and I like the vibe down here,'” she explained. “But secondly, I don’t do well vying for time. And there, you gotta interrupt and butt in and butt out. It’s just not my personality.”

By the time Walters co-created The View in 1997, Somers already had experience as host and executive producer of The Suzanne Somers Show, which aired for 64 episodes in 1994.

Earlier in the episode, the podcast host David Yontef posited that Somers would do well on a reality show like Shark Tank, to which she replied, “I, usually, am a one-man band.”

The View has maintained a fairly standard format since it first launched, featuring a panel of women from diverse professional backgrounds discussing politics, entertainment and culture. The show has been known for having its fair share of heated showdowns over the years.

Whoopi Goldberg, Sara Haines, Joy Behar, and Sunny Hostin on 'The View'
Photo: ABC

“I walked away from that and I never looked back,” Somers said. “I didn’t want to do that.”

Walters first launched the show in 1997 with co-hosts Meredith Vieira, Star Jones and Debbie Matenopoulos, with Joy Behar making guest appearances.

The show has gone through many rotating hosts over the years, including Lisa Ling, Rosie O’Donnell and Meghan McCain — but Somers won’t ever be one of them.

The View wasn’t the place for me then, it’s not the place for me now,” she said.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.