YouTube Star Hank Green Reveals Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Diagnosis: “This Sucks So Bad”

Science vlogger and creator Hank Green announced in a new video that he was recently diagnosed with cancer.

In a video titled “So, I’ve got cancer,” Green detailed his process of getting diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma. He explained that after his doctor recommended an ultrasound to look into why his lymph nodes were bigger than usual, he was then rushed to get a biopsy that same week.

“When you’re in the American healthcare system, you don’t expect things to move quick. That’s not what it does, that’s not what it looks like,” he said. “And when it starts to get a little bit efficient, that’s actually quite disconcerting.”

Green then shared the “good news, bad news” of the situation. “It’s something called Hodgkin’s lymphoma, like one of the most treatable cancers. It responds very well to treatment,” he said.

According to the American Cancer Society, Hodgkin’s lymphoma has a five-year survival rate of approximately 93 percent.

Green has made a name for himself on TikTok and YouTube as a science creator who shares videos about science and culture. He is also the younger brother of bestselling author John Green, who penned the coming-of-age romance The Fault In Our Stars, that was later adapted into a 2014 movie of the same name. The duo make videos together on the YouTube channel, VlogBrothers.

John also shared his brother’s video to Twitter, where he wrote, “Some important news from Hank. My little brother is my closest collaborator, oldest friend, and my absolute hero. Thank you for loving him as I do, and supporting us–and each other–in a tough time.”

“If you are a friend of mine and you’re like ‘Why am I hearing about this in a YouTube video’ I’m sorry about that. I spread the news a bit, but I figured I’d let this do some of the heavy lifting for me,” Green wrote in the caption. He also disclosed that he would be undergoing his first round of chemotherapy right as the video was scheduled to go live.

Hank Green

The caption also noted that a PET/CT scan showed the cancer hasn’t spread, which Green said was “very good news.”

“This sucks so bad, but I’m already learning so much…mostly about myself,” he wrote.