Aubrey Plaza Won’t Use Streaming Platforms Because They Anger Her: “I Just Can’t”

Where to Stream:

The Sopranos

Powered by Reelgood

Aubrey Plaza, fresh off of starring in her own HBO hit, revealed she only just finished watching The Sopranos for the very first time. But she didn’t stream the mafia drama on the soon-to-be-defunct HBO Max. Instead, she bought it on iTunes.

“I get really angry,” Plaza told Vanity Fair of trying to stream shows and movies. “I was trying to watch Top Chef Season 20. Couldn’t figure out how to fucking get Hulu + Live. I give up! I can’t. I just can’t.”

The actress revealed to the outlet that streaming apps enrage her so much she doesn’t have any subscription services. She hasn’t even watched her own season of The White Lotus, even though she earned herself a fair share of Emmy Awards buzz with her performance.

“What I like to do is go on iTunes and buy movies that are old,” she explained. “Or I’ll go on iTunes and just, like, buy the whole Sopranos series, and then my husband will be like, ‘You literally can watch that for free on HBO Max.'”

If the landscape of streaming wasn’t already complicated enough, HBO Max will soon be undergoing some changes as Warner Bros. Discovery gears up to launch Max, a new streaming service that will combine HBO Max and Discovery+ into one. Disney recently announced that it plans to do the same with Disney+ and Hulu.

Anyway, back to the real question we’re now all wondering: what did she think about that controversial series finale of The Sopranos?

James Gandolfini, Edie Falco in The Sopranos finale
HBO

“I’m shook,” she said. Plaza had been rewatching the series with her friend, actor Jake Johnson. “Yesterday I was like, ’Oh my God, what do you think happened?’ And he was like, ‘I don’t know but I was crying,’ and I was like, ‘I was crying too.’” 

Plaza said she decided to give it a try after starring in White Lotus alongside Sopranos star Michael Imperioli.

“I was like, ‘This is ridiculous, that we’re going through Sopranos finale stuff,'” she said.

We won’t spoil it for you — if you haven’t already, see it for yourself when Max launches May 23.