Joe Jonas Looks Back on Losing the Chance to Judge on ‘The Voice’ to Nick Jonas: “I Cried My Eyes Out”

Where to Stream:

The Voice

Powered by Reelgood

The Jonas Brothers sat down for an episode of Dax Shepard’s Armchair Expert podcast, during which the musicians candidly spoke about how they deal with jealousy when they’re going for the same opportunities in their solo careers.

Joe Jonas revealed he became emotional after learning his brother, Nick Jonas, got the opportunity to coach on The Voice. Fittingly enough, he said he learned the news while watching Fleetwood Mac perform at Madison Square Garden.

“It was at the most picturesque setting,” he said. “As they were playing ‘Landslide,’ I found out that [Nick] was going to be a judge on The Voice I was so jealous I cried my eyes out.”

He continued, “It was bittersweet, of course, ’cause I’m super happy for him, but I’m also bummed ’cause I want that fucking gig!”

Joe served as a coach on one season of the Australian Voice in 2018 and appeared as an adviser on four episodes of the U.S. version of The Voice in Season 13.

“I just enjoyed the job, so I was like, ‘what the f–k?’” Joe exclaimed. “But [Nick] crushed it and, you know, it was great.”

Nick Jonas, Joe Jonas, and Kevin Jonas on the 'Armchair Expert' podcast.

Nick became a coach on Seasons 18 and 20 after he made a few guest and musical appearances on previous episodes.

Despite the friendly rivalry, the brothers maintained that the most important thing to them is that they want someone “with the last name Jonas to win.”

“When they were doing their solo projects, I was definitely like, ‘I am so happy it’s happening for one of us, but I wish it was the three of us,'” Kevin Jonas admitted.

Going for the same role seems to be a rather common occurrence for the siblings. Nick even revealed that he and Joe both auditioned for the same role in the forthcoming musical film, Wicked.

“Yeah, we said, ‘Go in there and kill it ’cause it’s gotta be one of us. It has to be one of us,'” Joe joked. “That being said, never got that call.”