Ayesha Curry Says Her Comments About Her Husband Steph Curry on ‘Red Table Talk’ Were Edited to Make Her “Sound Crazy”

Where to Stream:

Red Table Talk

Powered by Reelgood

Ayesha Curry recently looked back on her 2019 appearance on the now-defunct Red Table Talk, in which she discussed what it’s like to be the wife of basketball player Stephen Curry.

Speaking to Insider, Curry said she felt she was “edited in a way” that made her “sound crazy” on the show.

During her appearance, Curry spoke candidly about the amount of attention her husband receives, specifically from female fans. But she also spoke about sometimes feeling insecure and wanting attention herself.

“It’s not what I said, and the context was weird,” she said. “Yeah. I took that one personally.”

Hosted by Jada Pinkett-Smith, her daughter Willow, and her mother Adrienne “Gammy” Banfield-Norris, Red Table Talk became known for fostering candid discussions with celebrities, especially those who needed to do some damage control – like the Smiths themselves.

“Stephen is very nice by nature and he’s very talkative,” Curry explained during her appearance on Red Table Talk. “Everything is always very friendly and sometimes to the point where I’m like, I’m a grown woman so I’ll just insert myself. I’ll be like, ‘Hello. How are you doing?'”

Steph and Ayesha Curry
Photo: Getty Images

She went on to explain that she struggled with insecurity after seeing women “throwing themselves” at Steph. “But me, like the past 10 years, I don’t have any of that,” she admitted. “I have zero – this sounds weird – but, like, male attention, and so then I begin to internalize it, and I’m like, ‘Is something wrong with me?’ I don’t want it, but it would be nice to know that someone’s looking.”

The comment drew backlash from people online, who made memes and trolled her for expressing those feelings.

Insider reports that being taken out of context “for clicks” drove her to become more “guarded.” Curry has since taken a step away from the public eye, pivoting from being a media personality to entrepreneurship with her wellness company Sweet July.

“I feel like you see a lot less of me, and you hear a lot less of me, but it’s because I’m actually living my life,” she told Insider. “And it feels really good.” 

Red Table Talk was canceled in April after Meta shut down Facebook Watch originals, including the Smiths’ emotional talk show.

Some celebrities celebrated the show’s cancelation, including Nick Cannon.

“That table was toxic,” Cannon said at the time, later adding, “Too much honesty can get your ass slapped in the face. We’ve seen this.”