Jason Segel Was “Really Unhappy” While Filming The Final Seasons Of ‘How I Met Your Mother’

Where to Stream:

How I Met Your Mother

Powered by Reelgood

Shrinking star Jason Segel recently opened up about how he felt when he was at the height his career while starring in How I Met Your Mother and hit comedies such as Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

“There was a period in my life and career around the last couple of years of How I Met Your Mother where things were firing in both movies and TV, and everyone was telling me how well it was going and I was really unhappy,” Segel revealed during an actors roundtable with The Hollywood Reporter. 

“And so I then had to grapple with why? What’s off about this equation?” he recalled. “I think the thing that I was confronted with is that it’s really great to make the decision of ‘f**k it, I do what I want,’ but unfortunately there’s a system of permission in place.”

The actor added that he had to “fight hard” to include the Dracula puppet musical at the end of Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

“It’s tricky. Part of the equation is getting to the point where you ask yourself, ‘What is worth trading my time for? What am I going to give over nine months or three years for?’ Because I look back at the ones I didn’t like and I’m like, ‘That was not worth age 28,'” he explained.

Mila Kunis and Jason Segel in FORGETTING SARAH MARSHALL.
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Rotten Tomatoes Score: 84%
Starring Jason Segel, Kristen Bell, and Mila Kunis, this uproarious romantic comedy sees a heartbroken Peter (Segel) travel to Hawaii to get over a breakup with his TV star girlfriend, Sarah Marshall (Bell). In an unfortunate twist, Sarah winds up at the same resort with her new boyfriend (Russell Brand), pushing Peter to a whole new place.
[
Stream Forgetting Sarah Marshall on Netflix]

How I Met Your Mother aired on CBS for eight seasons from 2005 to 2014, during which Segel also led a successful career in film. That period of Segel’s career includes Bad Teacher, I Love You, Man, Despicable Me, This Is 40 and This Is The End.

Though his career has since shifted into a slower pace, Segel is back with the Apple TV+ series Shrinking, in which he stars opposite Harrison Ford.

The actor was recently asked if he would ever make a cameo in the spinoff series How I Met Your Father just like his HIMYM co-star Neil Patrick Harris did in Season 2.

“I didn’t know about that, but those people changed my life and I would do anything they ever asked me to,” he told ET.