Sydney Sweeney Says Her Dad and Grandfather ‘Walked Out’ Of The Room When They Saw ‘Euphoria’

Where to Stream:

Euphoria

Powered by Reelgood

Sydney Sweeney recently shared about her family’s reactions to seeing her in HBO‘s sex and drug-fueled teen drama Euphoria for the first time. She said two family members in particular, her dad and grandfather, didn’t watch for long and ended up turning off the show and walking out of the room.

In a preview clip for an upcoming episode of Sunday Today with Willie Geist, the Reality actress said her mother was more prepared for what she was about to see and didn’t have as strong of a reaction.

“My mom visited me on set at the time, so she like knew the story and I talked to her a lot about it – my dad didn’t,” Sweeney said. “I didn’t prepare my dad at all.”

Sweeney added that she never really shared any details about the show with her father. “When I talk to my dad, it’s usually not about work,” she added. “We talk, like, father-daughter conversations.”

Her dad decided to check out the wildly popular series anyway “without telling me, with his parents.”

Since they didn’t know what to expect from the drama and Sweeney’s character Cassie, which follows a group of high school students as they struggle with issues of drugs, sex and violence, she said, “My dad and my grandpa turned it off and walked out.”

“But my grandma … she’s a big supporter of mine,” Sweeney added. “She’s a big fan of mine. Actually, I bring her, usually, all over the world to my different sets and I make her an extra.”

Euphoria has been renewed for Season 3 and also stars Zendaya, Hunter Schafer, Jacob Elordi, Angus Cloud, Maude Apatow, Alexa Demie and Barbie Ferreria.