DC Young Fly Posts Emotional Tribute to Late Partner Jacky Oh: “The Greatest Mother I Know”

Where to Stream:

Wild 'n Out

Powered by Reelgood

Former Wild ‘N Out star Jacky Oh died suddenly on May 31 at the age of 32, and today, her longtime partner and father to her three young children, DC Young Fly (whose real name is John Whitfield) penned a lengthy tribute to her. Whitfield praised her for being “the greatest mother I know,” saying that she will “always have a spot in my heart.”

In an emotional Instagram caption, the rapper, who also starred on Wild ‘N Out, began by saying that he needed to take time to process Oh’s death before making any kind of public statement.

“I wasn’t in no rush to post this because I wanted it to be a dream so bad but every hour I’m reminded of realty so I wanna make sure I applaud you in the proper manner,” he wrote.

“You are the GREATEST MOTHER I KNOW your soul was beautiful Yu always wanted the best for others and I admired how our family love each other!!!” he continued.”Never had to worry about our kids loving each other cause you were on top of Dat!!! …[I] will always tell our kids how much an amazing person you were especially a GREAT MOTHER!!!”

Whitfield went on to praise his children for helping him through the loss, and he included several photos of the family together during happier times in his post.

TMZ reported that Oh was in Miami when she died, and her cause of death has not yet been revealed. A since-deleted social media post explained that she was in Miami to undergo a “mommy makeover.”

Oh first appeared in Wild ‘N Out in 2015 and met Whitfield on the improvised rap battle competition show that same year. Whitfield was reportedly filming Wild ‘N Out in Atlanta when he received the news of Oh’s death.

The Wild ‘N Out Instagram account mourned her passing in a statement released last week, reading, in part, “We are deeply saddened by the passing of Jacklyn Smith, known to the world as Jacky Oh, a talented Wild N’ Out family member whose impact will be forever treasured and missed. Jacky Oh was a loving friend and beloved colleague of the Wild N’ Out cast throughout five seasons.”