Tom Holland Is Taking a Year off From Acting After ‘The Crowded Room’: “The Show Did Break Me”

Where to Stream:

The Crowded Room

Powered by Reelgood

Tom Holland will be taking a break from acting after wrapping on his new Apple TV+ series, The Crowded Room.

The actor, who also worked as a producer for the first time on the show, shared he had a “difficult” time during filming due to his new production responsibilities and his character’s severe mental health struggles.

“It was a tough time, for sure,” he told Extra. “We were exploring certain emotions that I have definitely never experienced before. And then on top of that, being a producer, dealing with the day-to-day problems that come with any film set, just added that extra level of pressure.”

On the show, Holland plays Danny Sullivan, a young man who gets arrested after a shooting occurs in New York City. The show explores his life through a series of interviews with investigator Rya Goodwin (Amanda Seyfried), uncovering his mental health issues and how he ended up in the middle of the shocking crime. It is based on the true story of Billy Milligan.

Holland maintained that he was “no stranger to hard work” and he “loved the learning curve of becoming a producer.” But, playing Sullivan proved to be more difficult than he expected.

“Then again, the show did break me. There did come a time where I needed a break and disappeared and went to Mexico for a week and had time on a beach and laid low,” he said. “I’m now taking a year off, and that is a result of how difficult this show was. I am excited to see how it turns out. I feel like our hard work wasn’t in vain.”

The Crowded Room
Photo: Apple TV+

The Spider-Man: No Way Home actor previously revealed that he had “a bit of a meltdown at home” while filming the show.

“I was seeing myself in [the character], but in my personal life,” Holland said. “I remember having a bit of a meltdown at home and thinking, like, ‘I’m going to shave my head. I need to shave my head because I need to get rid of this character.'”

Holland, who has been sober for one year and four months, also said working with psychiatrists on the show was very “informative” for understanding his own mental health.

“I hope that people will feel educated about the powers of mental health, the struggles, [and] our incredible abilities to survive,” he told EW.

The Crowded Room premiers June 9 on Apple TV+.

If you or someone you know is struggling with their mental health, call or text the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) hotline at 800-950-NAMI (6264).