Chris Hemsworth Is “Super Depressed” That He “Won’t Work With” Either Quentin Tarantino or Martin Scorsese After They Dissed Marvel

Where to Stream:

Thor: Love And Thunder

Powered by Reelgood

Chris Hemsworth says he “won’t work with” Martin Scorsese and Quentin Tarantino after hearing their comments disparaging Marvel films and their impact on the industry.

The actor called their comments “super depressing,” saying, “There goes two of my heroes I won’t work with. I guess they’re not a fan of me.”

Hemsworth later further clarified his answer and stated that both directors are “still my heroes.”

“In a heartbeat I would leap to work with any of them. But I say it more to the broader opinion around that topic,” he said. “I don’t think any of us have the answer, but we’re trying.”

The actor is nearing the end of his time with the franchise now that Taika Waititi‘s Thor: Love and Thunder released in 2022. With no sign of a fifth Thor movie in the pipeline, it may be time for Hemsworth to begin looking elsewhere for roles – and it may be in his best interest not to burn any bridges.

Natalie Portman and Chris Hemsworth in 'Thor: Love and Thunder'
Photo: Everett Collection

“I’m thankful that I have been a part of something that kept people in cinemas,” he explained. “Now, whether or not those films were to the detriment of other films, I don’t know. I don’t love when we start scrutinizing each other when there’s so much fragility in the business and in this space of the arts as it is.”

Last year, Tarantino said there’s a lack of movie stars now due to the “Marvel-ization of Hollywood.”

“You have all these actors who have become famous playing these characters,” he said during an appearance on the 2 Bears, 1 Cave podcast. “But they’re not movie stars. Right? Captain America is the star. Or Thor is the star… but it’s like, you know, it’s these franchise characters that become a star.”

Scorsese also likened the studio’s releases to theme parks, saying it isn’t cinema showing “human beings trying to convey emotional, psychological experiences to another human being.”

For now, the Marvel machine has shown no sign of letting up.

Multiple movies are already in the works with four slated to release in 2024, including Thunderbolts and the much-delayed Blade reboot.