Sherri Shepherd Surprises ‘The Blackening’ Star Jay Pharoah With a Message From Kym Whitley After He Gushes About His Crush on the Actress

Sherri Shepherd is always trying to make peoples’ dreams come true. And that’s what she did on Thursday’s (June 15) broadcast of Sherri after comedian Jay Pharoah dished on his celebrity crush, Kym Whitley.

“They told me you have a crush on one of my besties, Kym Whitley,” Shepherd prompted Pharoah.

The former Saturday Night Live star didn’t even try to deny it. “She is so sexy,” he replied.

“I’ve told her this to her face, but the thing about Kym that I love is her ability to transform,” he explained. “I saw her on The Jamie Foxx Show where she played that psycho character with the teeth, and I was like, ‘Oh, there’s a bad woman under that.'”

He continued, “And then I saw her do Next Friday where she played Suga. She could give me diabetes, I don’t care.”

Whitley is a veteran comedian who has been in the industry since the ’90s. She has appeared on a number of sitcoms over the years, including Young & Hungry, Sparks, The Parkers, and more.

Shepherd then decided to play wing-woman and surprise Pharoah with a video message from Whitley.

Whitley, who can be seen in the video sitting by her pool, got straight to the point. “Hey Jay, I heard you got a crush on your girl,” she said. “I know that you do over 200 impressions and for every impression you got, I got a woman for it.”

Kym Whitley, Jay Pharoah reacting to her video on 'Sherri'
Photo: Fox

“You could do Jay Z, well guess what?” Whitley said. The scene cut and showed her with a blond, curly wig on. “I got Beyonce.”

“You do Barack [Obama], I got your Michelle,” she said, appearing with another wig on. “When they go low, we go high.”

While Pharoah played it cool, his Blackening costar Yvonne Orji demanded to know why she didn’t have a message from her own celebrity crush. “How come he gets to have his crush desire’s fulfilled? What about me?” she said. “You didn’t ask! It’s too late now.”

Shepherd promised to have one ready next time Orji returns to the show.

“I know a lot of people, but we have to make sure it’s nobody that I like,” Shepherd replied. “Why am I going to sit here and get Trevor Noah for you?”

Pharoah and Orji’s new movie The Blackening premieres in theaters June 16.

Sherri airs on weekdays at 10 a.m. ET. Check the Sherri website for local listings.