Ken Jennings Thought It “Would Be Insane” to Replace Alex Trebek as Host of ‘Jeopardy’

Where to Stream:

Jeopardy

Powered by Reelgood

The next question in the Jeopardy category is: who thought they should not have succeeded Alex Trebek as co-host of the show?

Answer: the current Jeopardy co-host Ken Jennings.

As the record-holding previous contestant with a total of 74 consecutive wins on the show, Jennings has been co-hosting with actress Mayim Biyalik since Trebek’s death at age 80 in November 2020.

Despite his tremendous experience competing on the show, Jennings revealed that he was shocked to have been offered the permanent gig in an interview with the Deseret News.

“I was 100% confident I would not get a shot at the job — because that would be insane,” he told the outlet.

“If I were hiring for that job, I would go with a sturdy broadcaster with decades of experience, not just somebody who happened to be good at the show many years ago,” he continued. “But luckily they took a chance on me.”

Jennings shared that the opportunity to be on the other side of the podium has been a “dream job” for him. He said that he is “very happy to be retired from Jeopardy!” and refuses to return as a contestant on the show out of fear of losing to his rival, James Holzhauer, who recently bested five other contestants on Jeopardy Masters.

“Let me be very clear and on the record here: It’s because I’m terrified of playing James because I think he would win,” he admitted. “I think I got away with one in the GOAT tournament. And I think there’s a very good chance that he would just wipe the floor with me if we had to play again. So I feel very lucky to be retired — ain’t gonna be no rematch.”

Elsewhere in the interview, Jennings acknowledged the support of his wife Mindy, who has been “a real reassuring presence” for him throughout his Jeopardy tenure.

From left to right: Alex Trebek and Ken Jennings on 'Jeopardy.'
Photo: Everett Collection

“Like the first day I was filling in for Alex, I called home, and she said, ‘Well, how did it go?,'” Jennings recalled. “And I said, ‘Well, let me put it this way: I am not Alex Trebek up there.’ And she said, ‘Well, you know what? Maybe on his first day, he wasn’t either.’ And I really needed to hear that right then.”

Jeopardy! airs weeknights at 7/6c. Check the Jeopardy website for local listings.