Maya Hawke’s Biggest Lie to Her Father Ethan Hawke? “I Said I Was Going to Therapy, and I Really Went to Lose My Virginity”

Where to Stream:

Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen

Powered by Reelgood

For those who have kept secrets from their parents, just know that Maya Hawke has been right where you once were.

The Stranger Things star, who is the daughter of actor Ethan Hawke and actress and Uma Thurman, recently sat down with Andy Cohen on his show Watch What Happens Live, where she was joined by Asteroid City co-star Bryan Cranston.

During his segment “High School Me!,” where he asks his guests questions about their adolescent selves, Cohen posed the following question: “What was the worst trouble you got into as a teen?”

“Ohhh, I told a lie,” Hawke replied. “I said I was going to therapy, and I really went to lose my virginity.”

Both Cohen and Cranston erupted in laughter, prompting the latter to jokingly respond, “Me too!”

Hawke revealed that her father was upset, giving her a “really hard time” despite not knowing exactly where she went instead of therapy.

Maya Hawke and Ethan Hawke
Photo: Getty Images

“He went, ‘Where were you? Where did you go?’ and I said, ‘How am I supposed to have secrets if I’m not allowed to tell lies?'” Hawke quipped.

“Put that on a bumper sticker right now!” Cohen exclaimed.

Hawke’s parents divorced in 2005. She reflected on the split in an interview with As If Magazine, telling the outlet that her parents’ divorce reminded her that  “there’s a high value placed on time spent together” when she’s not constantly in their company, per Entertainment Tonight.

Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen airs Sunday through Thursday on Bravo at 10 p.m. ET. Watch Hawke’s interview in the video above.