Queue And A

‘RHOC’ Star Shannon Beador Plans To Be More “Cautious” In Her Relationships Going Forward: “Not Trust As Much”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Orange County

Powered by Reelgood

In her 8th season on Real Housewives Of Orange County, Shannon Beador is not holding anything back. Though repairing her fraught friendship with returning housewife Tamra Judge takes priority, Beador has vowed to “speak up” and “defend” herself against false accusations before they can fester. “Some false statements have become truth in so many people’s eyes,” explained the Real for Real cofounder. Another storyline that fans will see play out this season involves Beador’s troubled relationship with ex-boyfriend John Janssen, who broke up with her a week after filming stopped. “We didn’t have any glaring, horrible issues. We just fought a lot,” observed Beador.

This season is not all doom and gloom, however. Beador was pleased to welcome former Real Housewives of Beverly Hills star Taylor Armstrong as a Friend Of this season. “I call her my hot mess sister,” said Beador. “She can be wild, but she also has the kindest heart.” Though Beador’s friendship with Armstrong is smooth sailing, the same can’t be said about her bond with a cast mate Heather Dubrow. After an “aha moment” later this season, Beador admits that “there’s been no resolution” between the two women, though she “hopes the reunion can help with that.”

Beador stopped by the DECIDER offices to talk about the new season, Gina Kirschenheiter‘s disastrous “flamingle” party, and why the untrue “Drunk Shannon” storyline needs to stop.

DECIDER: A big part of your story this season involves mending your friendship with Tamra. What was your initial reaction when you heard she was coming back?

SHANNON BEADOR: It was like, “are you kidding me? Really?”

I’m glad that you and Tamra are back to a good place. How hard is it to watch the beginning of this season when you both were still so hurt?

The second episode was very difficult for me. Even knowing where we stand right now, it hurts watching it back because I’m still feeling pain when I hear what she said then. You know, this is my 8th season on the show. For me, filming is always the most fun part. The hardest part always is watching the show because I don’t know what other people have said behind my back or what side conversations have occurred.

real housewives of orange county shannon beador

Eddie and Tamra do not hold back when they talk about your relationship with John in Episode 2. Were you aware of their concerns?

I was more hurt by their saying “the best part of that relationship was David.”

Yes, that was a tough moment.

It’s interesting because up to that point, John and I had done only two things with Tamra and Eddie socially. One was a party that I was hosting for 50 people, so we weren’t even together with them most of the time. It’s frustrating. John and I aren’t together anymore. This whole season is going to be interesting for everybody to watch because he broke up with me a week after filming ended.

Through the entire season, you’re going to see a progression. I was just talking to Andy Cohen about it. He’s like: “You fought. You see this season you were defending your relationship with him.” I have never felt for anyone what I felt with John, and he has said the same about me. We didn’t have any glaring, horrible issues. We just fought a lot. We bickered.

You two are friendly now, correct?

We weren’t for a while. I dated somebody else for 4+ months. Right now, we’re friendly. I’d also prefer to be in a happy place rather than be angry with or resentful of somebody.

A lot of your cast members seem intimidated by Tamra, but you face your issues with her head on and don’t bend this season. Where do you find that strength?

In the past, I didn’t speak up or question things that Tamra did out of deference to our very real friendship. However, because I didn’t defend myself, some false statements that she made have been accepted as true by so many people. I’ve made a vow to myself that I will speak up if I need to with any of my cast members right now. You’ll see later in the season that I have an “aha moment” with another cast member. As of now, there’s really been no resolution. I’m hoping that the reunion can help with that.

And does this certain cast member’s last name begin with a “d”?

It’s possible.

Where we are right now in the season, that certain cast member is calling you to check-in.

Yes, and it was pretty nice to have her do that for me. And Emily [Simpson] too. She was advocating for me during that boat party in Episode 2. I texted her when I saw the episode and thanked her because nobody else even tried to support me.

real housewives of orange county shannon beador

I don’t know if I’ll ever recover from Gina’s “Flamingle” boat party.

Oh, and the things you didn’t see [laughs]. It was unbelievable. I’m happy with the way that I behaved. I feel as though I held my ground. I’m also sick of the whole “drunk Shannon” accusation. Do I go out and, especially on the show, have fun and drink? Absolutely. But I’m not a drunk. It’s to the point now where my kids are older and they’ll watch the episode and go, “Mom, that’s not who you are.” I know that’s not who I am. They’ve been saying I’m a drunk since Season 9. It’s Season 17 and we know that’s not the truth. Stop throwing it at the wall already. It’s not sticking.

It’s clear you won that round between you and Tamra.

That’s nice, but you know, I feel as though sometimes people think that I am in competition with Tamra or with other members of our cast. I don’t care about that. If you want to get in a competition with me, you win. That’s not what life’s all about. However, I think I did win that round on the boat [laughs]. I mean, come on.

Tamra has described you as a “sister.” Is that why you two are able to fight so hard and still forgive and forget?

You’ll see in the episodes coming up, I always want to be that person. With Vicki a while back, I forgave, but I didn’t forget for a while. That’s way seasons go. It can take time. I feel as though I have to tread slowly with all my relationships and maybe not trust as much. Just be a little bit more cautious.

I hear you’re a fan of Taylor Armstrong. So am I! What made her a good addition to the cast as a friend of?

She’s just silly fun. I call her my hot mess sister. She can be wild, but she also has the kindest heart. She’s just a very sweet person.

After breaking the Bravo corner of the internet a few weeks ago by taking a picture with your ex-husband David, you just reunited again for the twins’ graduation! Are you two getting back to friendly terms?

Only time will tell. For the last five years, if David’s on the phone with one of my kids and he hears my voice, he hangs up. There’s been absolutely zero co-parenting. So for him to say, “Let’s take a picture of the four of us at the graduation,” that was a major step. I’m hopeful. Is he my favorite person? Absolutely not. And I guarantee you, I am not his. But for the sake of our kids, if we can just get along, that would be progress.

Can you give us an update on your company Real for Real?

We did film a brainstorming session for the show that has a lot of different things going on, but you never know what will make the final edit. I do have a project with Dr. Moon to help him launch his at-home colonic system. Everyone remembers the embarrassing moment in Season 10 when a piece of the tip broke off [laughs]. We are perfecting that portion of the apparatus. I also have another supplement in the works. I have three out right now, and so we’re doing well.

Finally, if you could go on a season of RHUGT, which of the housewives would you bring with you?

Well, “fun vacation Shannon” is waiting for the call! But I would take Sonja Morgan, whom I love and I know. We’re friends. Add Dolores [Catania], Margaret [Josephs], and Shereé [Whitfield] and you have a pretty great group!