Jennifer Lawrence Remains a Relatable Queen, Confessing She “Would Have No Idea How to Talk” to Method Actors: “Do I Have to Be in Character?”

Where to Stream:

American Hustle

Powered by Reelgood

The art of Method acting sometimes feels like it’s taking over Hollywood, but not everyone in the biz is onboard — and you certainly won’t catch No Hard Feelings star Jennifer Lawrence taking up the practice any time soon.

While managing to respond through spice-induced tears of pain on her recent interview on Hot Ones, Lawrence revealed her discomfort working with Method actors, admitting it makes her “nervous” to work with someone who has “gone full Method,” per Variety.

“I would have no idea how to talk to [Method actors],” Lawrence said on Hot Ones. “Do I have to be in character? That would make me nervous. I haven’t seen another [acting] process that I’ve been curious about. You don’t know about them all the time.”

Lawrence pointed to her American Hustle co-star Christian Bale‘s acting technique, which she admired and ended up adopting herself after working on the 2013 film with him. She described his process as essentially anti-Method, claiming he would get in character “10 seconds to action.”

From left to right: Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Renner, Christian Bale, and Jennifer Lawrence in 'American Hustle.'
Photo: Everett Collection

“I noticed when the camera started rolling and the crew started preparing, like 10 seconds to action, he would start getting ready,” Lawrence said. “I saw that and thought, ‘That seems like a really good idea.’ So I started doing that.”

Bale previously told GQ that Method acting in a film like Marvel’s Thor: Love and Thunder would be pitiful. Bale, who starred as Gorr the God Butcher in the 2022 superhero movie, told the magazine last October, “That would’ve been a pitiful attempt to do that. As I’m trying to get help getting the fangs in and out and explaining I’ve broken a nail, or I’m tripping over the tunic.”

Lawrence and Bale aren’t alone in their distaste for Method acting — Sebastian Stan previously dissed the practice as “creating chaos,” while Mads Mikkelsen looked down on the “pretentious” technique and Charlize Theron simply said, “I can’t do the Method thing.”

Sounds like they’re in good company.

Watch Lawrence’s full Hot Ones appearance in the video above.