Tom Hanks’ Niece Carly Reeves Goes Viral After Screaming Meltdown on ‘Claim to Fame’: “I Should Have More Camera Time!”

Where to Stream:

Claim to Fame

Powered by Reelgood

For a brief moment, Tom Hanks‘ niece Carly Reeves was almost as famous as her beloved uncle. After an unforgettable stint on Claim to Fame, Reeves is the talk of the internet for her shocking reaction to being disqualified from the reality series after a contestant correctly guessed her Hollywood relative.

The show, which premiered its second season on ABC last night, features relatives of celebrities who live together under one roof and must keep their identity a secret while trying to guess who their opponents might be related to. A viral clip from the Season 2 premiere shows another contestant correctly guessing Reeves’ “claim to fame” as she becomes emotional and walks off stage.

What happens next left her fellow contestants — and viewers at home — truly shocked.

Reeves can be heard backstage screaming and yelling angrily about getting disqualified. “His freaking clues were so freaking obvious,” she fumes.

“Why a bench, why a bench? There’s literally no references to a bench in any other movie,” she continues through tears, referencing the infamous bench from Forrest Gump. She even takes a shot at her cast mate, saying, “Even Gabriel found that out, and he’s not even smart.” Sorry, Gabriel.

'Claim to Fame' cast reacting to Carly Reeves
Photo: ABC

Reeves’ emotional rant continues as she yells through tears, “I don’t deserve this. I should have more camera time! I should be here longer.”

Reeves addressed her emotional disqualification in an interview with Entertainment Weekly, and she’s taking it all in stride, saying she thought the viral moment was “hilarious.”

“Yeah, I was really upset. I think I overreacted a little bit, but I’m an emotional, very dramatic person,” she told EW. “I was really angry that I didn’t get a chance to play as long as some of [the] other contestants.” 

Reeves is an actress and producer who graduated from UCLA’s School of Theater, Film, and Television. Some of her acting credits include films led by her famous uncle, such as Larry Crowne and Charlie Wilson’s War.

“I hope I don’t embarrass him, but I don’t think I do,” she added. “So, I would love for him to watch it, because I think it’s hilarious … He’s happy for me no matter what.”

Famous siblings Kevin and Frankie Jonas co-host the reality competition, which airs on ABC and is also streaming on Hulu.