Harrison Ford Reveals He Initially Had “Many” Questions About His Indiana Jones Costume: “What Am I Going To Do With A F**king Whip?”

Where to Stream:

Raiders of the Lost Ark

Powered by Reelgood

It’s the end of an era. Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny is now playing in theaters everywhere, showcasing Harrison Ford‘s final go at playing the adventurer. But Ford recently took a moment to look back on all five films of the franchise and all the injuries (and questions) that came with them.

Speaking to GQ, the actor revealed he wasn’t totally on board with the costume they had planned for his character.

“It was presented to me as an aspect of character in the first film,” he said. “My questions about it were many: Why am I wearing a leather jacket in the jungle? Isn’t it hot here? Why am I carrying a whip? What am I going to do with a fucking whip? I’m going to whip people?”

Ford recalled that the costume was meant to be “an evocation of a time” and a “reflection of movies past.”

As we know, the iconic costume consists of a bullwhip, a leather jacket, and a pinch-front fedora. But Ford revealed keeping that fedora on during action scenes was no easy feat. He actually had to staple his signature hat to his forehead to keep it from flying off when filming.

Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark
Photo: Everett Collection

The video interview then showed a behind-the-scenes clip that showed the actor stapling it to his head, before saying, “That should do it.”

“I still have the [scar],” he told GQ. “You do what you need to do.”

Over 40 years and one successful franchise later, it’s safe to say he certainly did what he needed to do.

Now, Ford is playing Indie one last time in Dial of Destiny, which he says he expects “will be the last time that [Indiana Jones] appears in a film.” Steven Spielberg has previously said that he doesn’t think anyone could reprise the iconic role after Ford retires it, stating, “There is only going to be one actor playing Indiana Jones, and that’s Harrison Ford.”

Ahead of the film’s premiere, Ford stated his greatest hope for Dial of Destiny was ending the franchise “not with a whimper, but a bang.”

“I had been ambitious to do this film for 10 years, and there finally came a time when we all committed to that,” he said at the time. “It was a joyous moment for me. I think it’s a rare situation that I find myself in.”

Scroll up to check out the rest of Ford’s interview.

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny is now playing in theaters.