Will There Be A ‘How I Met Your Father’ Season 3 on Hulu?

Where to Stream:

How I Met Your Father

Powered by Reelgood

How I Met Your Father is one step closer to answering the big question: Who is the titular father?

The eventful two-part Season 2 finale of Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger’s How I Met Your Mother sequel series premiered on Hulu July 11, and in addition to a long-awaited makeup, a long-awaited breakup, and a mid-hurricane make-out session, we’re pretty sure How I Met Your Father eliminated one major contender as the father of Sophie’s son.

But have we seen the last of Sophie (Hilary Duff), Valentina (Francia Raisa), Jesse (Chris Lowell), Sid (Suraj Sharma), Ellen (Tien Tran), and Charlie’s (Tom Ainsley) friendships and love stories evolve on our screens?

Wondering if How I Met Your Father was renewed or canceled? And what a Season 3 would look like? Here’s everything we know about the future of the How I Met Your Mother sequel series.

How I Met Your Father Season 3 Renewal Status: Renewed or Canceled?

As of How I Met Your Father’s Season 2 finale date (July 11) the series had yet to be renewed or canceled by Hulu. Tragically, on September 1, reps for the show confirmed to Decider that the series would end after Season 2, which means there won’t be a Season 3 — and, crucially, we’ll never get to meet the father! Is it Jesse? Is it Sid?! Is it Josh Peck!!!? We will never know! I’m devastated! This is so not legendary, Hulu!

Tom Ainsley, Chris Lowell, Tien Tran, Hilary Duff, Francia Raisa, and Suraj Sharma on 'How I Met Your Father'
Photo: Patrick Wymore/Hulu

How I Met Your Father getting renewed for a second season halfway through Season 1 seemed like a good sign. And while Season 1 was 10 episodes, Season 2’s supersized 20-episode order also felt encouraging for the series. The show’s hit predecessor, How I Met Your Mother, lasted nine seasons. And while it’s uncommon for shows to last that long in the age of streaming, it’s clear that How I Met Your Father still had material for additional episodes, because, again, we still don’t know the identity of the titular father!

It seemed unthinkable that Hulu would cancel a series with such a charming cast and a unique nostalgia factor before its core question had been answered, but we’ve been burned too many times this year by unexpectedly canceled shows, so unfortunately we know the drill. So how does How I Met Your Father end? And what might a Season 3 have looked like? Let’s break it down.

How I Met Your Father Season 2 Ending Explained: What Could How I Met Your Father Season 3 Have Been About?

If you’re looking for a detailed recap of How I Met Your Father’s Season 2 finale (now the seriess finale), check out our ending explained article, which dives deep into Season 2, Episode 20, “Okay Fine, It’s A Hurricane.”

Season 2 ended with four major relationship developments: Sophie and Jesse got back together and shared an iconic kiss mid-hurricane that none of us should ever try at home. Sid and Hannah almost definitely broke up, called off their engagement, or at the very least are taking a break after Hannah kissed another guy and Sid had a short-lived emotional affair with another girl. And we caught Val kissing DREW in the supply closet of Pemberton’s. Before you get too worried about their relationship — which adult Sophie (Kim Cattrall) described as “a disaster” — just know that before the episode ends, we receive photographic evidence that Valentina and Charlie reunite at some point and eventually have a child named Alex. AWW!

Hilary Duff as Sophie, Chris Lowell as Jesse, Tien Tran as Ellen, Suraj Sharma as Sid, and Tom Ainsley as Charlie on 'How I Met Your Father'
Photo: Patrick Wymore/Hulu

How I Met Your Father Season 3 could have continued following the friend group’s friendship, daily dramas, and pursuits of love. We ideally would have seen see Jesse and Sophie give their relationship another (more successful) shot, Sid recover from his Season 2 finale heartbreak, Val and Drew do, uh, whatever it is they were about to do, and Val and Charlie eventually find their way back to each other. Oh, and in addition to more How I Met Your Mother cameos (duh!) we hopefully would have seen some more personal Ellen and Charlie storylines as well! Ellen and Charlie rule!

The unanswered question of who fathered Sophie’s son would obviously remain a major mystery in need of solving, but tragically Hulu didn’t feel How I Met Your Father had half the staying power of How I Met Your Mother. As the great Hilary Duff would probably sing, “Hey now, hey now…this is NOT what dreams are made of.”

If you need a rewatch and a good cry, the first two seasons of How I Met Your Father are currently streaming on Hulu.

Updated with news of How I Met Your Father’s Season 3 renewal status.