Reneé Rapp Prefers the “Psychotic” and “Crazy” Music Industry to Acting on ‘The Sex Lives Of College Girls’: “I Am So Much Happier”

Where to Stream:

The Sex Lives of College Girls

Powered by Reelgood

The news that The Sex Lives of College Girls star Reneé Rapp exiting the Max series to pursue her music career hit fans like a truck , many of whom have come to love Rapp’s Leighton, the initially preppy primadonna who becomes in touch with her sexuality upon arriving at the fictional Essex College.

However, her interview on Apple Music’s The Zane Lowe Show may lessen the blow of the headlines.

When discussing her music with Lowe, Rapp gushed, “God, I love it so much.”

She continued, “It’s, like, I don’t even care. And I don’t know if that’s because I’ve had different experiences on the other side because I’ve also had amazing experiences on the other side, but it just doesn’t fucking matter to me in music.”

SEX LIVES OF COLLEGE GIRLS alyah-chanelle-scott-renee-rapp_0
Alyah Chanelle Scott (L) and Renee Rapp (R), stars of The Sex Lives of College Girls on HBO Max. Photo: HBO Max

While many have warned the rising star, whose album Snow Angel is set to be released on Aug. 18, that “music is so psychotic [and] this business is crazy,” she explained that making music makes her “so much happier.” Her new single “Talk too Much” was released today (July 12).

On June 16, Rapp announced her “Snow Hard Feelings” tour on Instagram, with its first stop in Houston on Sept. 15.

According to Us Weekly, Rapp took to her Instagram story and Twitter on Monday (June 10) to credit the series, which “introduced [her] to some of [her] favorite people,” as well as her community of fans.

She added, “Thank you, Mindy [Kaling], Justin [Noble] and everyone at Max for believing in me. A lot of queer works gets belittled — but playing Leighton has changed my life. I love who I am 10x more than I did before knowing her. I hope she gave y’all a little bit of that too.”

Rapp will still appear in a handful of episodes in the upcoming series, and is “so excited for this season” and “can’t wait for [viewers] to see what [they] have coming for her and the girls,” via her post.

She told Lowe in her interview, “I think the easier part for me is when I’m doing stuff on stage or screen, I at least trust that the material is not mine.” She explained that she “become[s] so much more territorial” when it comes to the music she writes, and that “been really afraid of that since the beginning.”

The first two seasons of The Sex Lives of College Girls are available to stream on Max.