‘Sex and the City’ Star Chris Noth Gives First Interview Since Sexual Assault Allegations, Says “I’m Not Going to Lay Down and Just Say It’s Over”

Where to Stream:

And Just Like That

Powered by Reelgood

Chris Noth is speaking out. In his first interview since being accused of sexual assault, the former Sex and the City star told USA Today that he’s “not going to lay down and just say it’s over” in his career.

Just weeks after his character, Mr. Big, was killed off And Just Like That in 2021, two women came forward with scathing allegations to The Hollywood Reporter. One claimed she was sexually assaulted by Noth in Los Angeles in 2004, while the other said her encounter with the actor occurred in New York City in 2015.

In the interview with USA Today, Noth admitted to cheating on his wife — but alleged that any encounters were consensual.

“I strayed on my wife, and it’s devastating to her and not a very pretty picture,” he said. “What it isn’t is a crime.”

Noth married Tara Wilson in 2012 after more than 10 years of dating — meaning that he was in a relationship with her when the alleged incidents took place. The two share a 3-year-old and a 15-year-old, and have stayed together since the scandal broke.

“You give yourself the same excuses that many men do; it’s just a little side dance, and it’s fun,” he said, referring to how he justified what he claimed were affairs. “You’re not hurting anybody. No one’s going to know about this, you know, and sex is just enjoyable. And suddenly, a lot of people want to have sex with you. It’s like, ‘Well, I’m not going to get this chance again.'”

Chris Noth
Photo: Everett Collection

According to THR, one of the women claimed Noth had “raped” her, while the other alleged that he had forced her to perform oral sex on him. In response to the accusations, Noth said they were “categorically false” and that both encounters were “consensual.” While noting to USA Today that a civil lawsuit is still possible, he added, “That’s a money train for a lot of people.”

“There’s nothing I can say to change anyone’s mind when you have that kind of a tidal wave,” Noth said. “It sounds defensive. I’m not. There’s no criminal court. There’s no criminal trial. There’s nothing for me to get on the stand about and get my story out, get witnesses. And there’s even more absurd add-ons that are completely ridiculous, that have absolutely no basis in fact.”

Following the reports, Noth lost his $12 million deal with a tequila brand, was fired from the CBS series The Equalizer, got dropped from what began as an insanely clever Peloton ad, and was erased from the And Just Like That season finale. Plus, his Sex and the City co-stars Sarah Jessica Parker, Kristin Davis and Cynthia Nixon banded together and released a joint statement saying they “support the women who have come forward and shared their painful experiences.”

Now, nearly two years later, Noth is working with the suit company Samuelsohn on their campaign to raise awareness about men’s mental health, and is also directing and performing at a theater in Massachusetts.

“I’m not going to lay down and just say it’s over,” he said of his career. “It’s a salacious story, but it’s just not a true one. And I can’t just say ‘Well, OK, that’s it for me’ because of that. I’m an actor. I have other things that I want to do creatively. And I have children to support. I can’t just rest on my laurels. So yeah, I have enough to let a year drift, but I don’t know how to gauge or judge getting back into the club, the business, because corporations are frightened.”

He continued, “People are afraid of all this. Fear is the overriding operative word when it comes to whether they believe it or not. … I have to just continue on. It’s rough, because people are scared, and their fear leads them. And I have to just persevere because I still have a creative life.”

If you or someone you know needs to reach out about sexual abuse or assault, RAINN is available 24/7 at 800-656-HOPE (4673), or online at RAINN.org.