R.I.P. Lil Tay: Child Rapper Who Went Viral for Her Controversial Videos Dead at 14

Where to Stream:

Good Morning America

Powered by Reelgood

Claire Hope, or Lil Tay, a young rapper known for her social media presence and YouTube and Instagram following, has died. She was 14.

Her death was announced on her Instagram page this morning, where a statement shared that her brother had also died.

“It is with a heavy heart that we share the devastating news of our beloved Claire’s sudden and tragic passing. We have no words to express the unbearable loss and indescribable pain,” the statement reads. “This outcome was entirely unexpected and has left us all in shock. Her brother’s passing adds an even more unimaginable depth to our grief.”

The message continues, “During this time of immense sorrow, we kindly ask for privacy as we grieve this overwhelming loss. as the circumstances surrounding Claire and her brother’s passing are still under investigation.”

Lil Tay first rose to fame at just nine years old in 2017, when she began posting videos to social media of herself rapping, per Insider. She and her mother memorably appeared on Good Morning America in May 2018, where her mom said her young daughter was a “well-mannered and a great kid, well-behaved” and was “just entertaining people” with her videos, which sometimes featured the child pretending to do drugs and swearing.

As for Lil Tay, she told GMA at the time, “People think it’s funny, I guess, cause I’m nine years old and I’ve accomplished so much. I’m the youngest flexer. I can do anything I like. If they don’t believe me, I don’t care.”

She also denied that she was being exploited for her viral videos, telling GMA, “No one is forcing me to do this. This is my decision. I am happy with what I am doing.”

Her internet stardom led to a short-lived reality show on the Zeus Network titled Life with Lil Tay, which aired for three episodes in 2018.

Lil Tay shared her final Instagram post in 2018, when she mourned the death of XXXTentacion. In recent years, she was caught in a custody battle between her parents, per Variety. Lil Tay’s Instagram was wiped in June of 2018, and her Instagram Story included the words “help me.”

Her family was also accused of abusing the young star; her brother Jason Tian created a GoFundMe in 2021 alleging that Lil Tay needed help in her “fight against her abusive father.” It is unclear if Tian was the same brother who was mentioned in the statement announcing Lil Tay’s death.