‘Ted Lasso’ Star Hannah Waddingham Would Be “Excited” to Reprise Rebecca in Potential Spin-Off: “I Want to See Her Through”

Where to Stream:

Ted Lasso

Powered by Reelgood

Ted Lasso star Hannah Waddingham has hopped on the series’ fan wagon in hopes of a potential spin-off.

The 11-time Emmy award-winning Apple TV series follows American football coach Ted Lasso (Jason Sudeikis), who gets hired to coach British soccer (or football) team AFC Richmond. Waddingham’s Rebecca owns the football club, and the Season 3 finale featured her receiving a proposal from model-turned-PR consultant Keeley Jones (Juno Temple) to start a Richmond women’s league.

Fans have speculated that this plot point could lead to a potential spin-off, which Waddingham now says she’s thrilled about.

“When Juno and I read that, we didn’t know how we wanted to convey our excitement about the potential of that,” she explained to the Los Angeles Times. “I was meant to look up from the folder and just be like, ‘Oh, it’s on.’ But we couldn’t contain our excitement. So if you look at it, we do have a moment of ‘Aghhhh!’”

Another key point to be fleshed out in the potential spin-off would be Rebecca’s relationship with the Dutchman (Matteo Van Der Grijn), whom she reconnected with in Amsterdam, along with his daughter. Waddingham highlighted that “unless [she] play[s] her, Rebecca doesn’t exist anymore.”

Juno Temple and Hannah Waddingham in 'Ted Lasso'
Photo: Everett Collection

“And I want to see her through,” she added. “If you are left at a moment with the character, you want to see them through that moment. Does it work with her and the Dutchman? Does she have a female league? I mean, I hope so! It feels like it’s finished but not finished, because none of our lives are.”

Other than just continuing Rebecca’s story, Waddingham expressed how she she now understands when a role, like Rebecca, is an “utter fit.”

“[Ted Lasso] has afforded me the luxury of being sent a lot of things,” she continued. “But now from really digging into Rebecca, it’s shown me I have to feel it right away. I trust my gut more. I know that my initial thoughts on how to play a character [are right], and when a character doesn’t feel right.”

She added, “With the things I’m being offered, if I don’t have a visceral, immediate response to them, I actually turn them away. Because now I know how it should feel.”

All seasons of Ted Lasso are now streaming on Apple TV+.