Sacha Baron Cohen To Bring Back ‘Ali G’ For Stand-Up Tour

Where to Stream:

Da Ali G Show

Powered by Reelgood

Sacha Baron Cohen is bringing back his Ali G character for an upcoming stand-up tour.

According to Variety, Cohen has been working on material for the tour for some time now, and at least part of it will feature Ali G. Further details, including tour dates, have yet to be revealed.

Cohen first appeared as Ali G on Channel 4‘s The 11 O’Clock Show in the late 90s. On the show, he interviewed a number of international figures while in character as a over-the-top British rapper from the town Staines-upon-Thames.

In 2000, Cohen starred as the character on his own Da Ali G Show, the first season of which originally aired on Channel 4 in the UK. It was later picked up by HBO in the United States where it aired its second and third seasons.

Cohen brought the character to the big screen in 2002 with the film Ali G Indahouse, which was directed by Mark Mylod.

In 2021, Cohen reprised the character for a handful of stand-up shows. “I just wanted to get on stage and muck around and see what Ali G would be like with a crowd,” he told GQ. “It was really good fun.”

When asked at the time if he would play the character again in future, Cohen replied: “Yes, I think I would.”

“Because the reason I became a comedian was that I loved people laughing at my jokes. To actually hear laughter is a rare thing for me. When I do the movies, I think it is funny, but I have to wait three months to hear an audience laugh.”

A few days ago, rumors had been circulating that Cohen was working on a new Ali G movie. A source close to Cohen, however, told Variety that there are no such plans.