Sage Steele Tells Megyn Kelly That Barbara Walters “Elbowed” And “Pushed” Her In The Green Room At ‘The View’: “This 140-Year-Old Woman Just Tried To Tackle Me”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Sage Steele reportedly has some unsettled beef with the late Barbara Walters.

The former ESPN sportscaster, who just officially exited the network three days ago after settling a lawsuit, told Megyn Kelly on yesterday’s (Aug. 17) episode of The Megyn Kelly Show that Walters “elbowed” and “pushed” her in the green room at The View.

“It was Barbara, Whoopi [Goldberg] and myself in the dark green room off to the side,” she explained to Kelly, noting that she “was probably about four feet from the wall and the trash can,” with Walters standing in front of her.

“She just started to back up toward me and looked at me and got close and elbowed me, and it pushed me back into the wall and the trash can,” she continued. “I was like, ‘What did [she] just do to me? This 140-year-old woman just tried to like tackle me.’”

Steele said that Goldberg and some of the producers saw it go down.

“And Whoopi was like, ‘Come here.’ She was great,” she added. “She pulled me aside in her little area and she’s like, ‘Don’t you let her do it.’ And I’m like, ‘Am I in a movie right now?’ One of the legends in this industry just tried to beat me up!”

Walters, who passed away in December 2022, created The View in 1997, and co-hosted the show until 2014.

Steele highlighted that this supposedly took place after an “Obama segment” on The View. She previously made controversial comments on Jay Cutler’s Uncut podcast in 2021 about the former president’s racial lineage, finding it “fascinating” that he identifies as Black “considering his Black dad was nowhere to be found” as opposed to choosing to identify as biracial.

Other comments she made on the podcast that led to her initial suspension from ESPN included deeming the network’s COVID-19 vaccine mandate as “sick” and expressing criticism toward women who wear suggestive clothing to work, per Variety.

According to CNBC, in 2022, Steele filed a lawsuit against the sports network, where she began work in 2007, alleging that she was “sidelined” after her interview on Cutler’s podcast.

In an Instagram post she shared on Tuesday (Aug. 15), she wrote, “Having successfully settled my case with ESPN/Disney, I have decided to leave so I can exercise my first amendment rights more freely.”

Decider reached out to Whoopi Goldberg’s representative for confirmation, but did not hear back in time of publication.