Lizzo Is Feeling “Good” as Hell in First Public Sighting Since Bombshell Lawsuit Drama

Where to Stream:

Lizzo’s Watch Out For The Big Grrrls

Powered by Reelgood

Lizzo is feeling good as hell amid her lawsuit drama. In her first public sighting since getting sued by her former backup dancers earlier this month, the singer was all smiles as she made her way into a recording studio.

During a short interaction with TMZ, Lizzo hopped out of her car in the parking lot of the studio. The star — who made no mention of the lawsuit — said she’s feeling “good” and confirmed that she has “new music on the way.”

The news broke earlier this month that three of Lizzo’s former dancers, some of whom competed on her Prime Video series Lizzo’s Watch Out For The Big Grrrls, filed a lawsuit accusing the musician of weight-shaming, harassment and creating a hostile work environment. Shirlene Quigley, her dance captain, as well as Big Grrrl Big Touring, her production company, were also named in the suit.

One dancer alleged that Lizzo had made “thinly veiled” comments about her weight and that she was pressured by the singer to physically interact with a nude performer at an Amsterdam strip club. Another dancer claimed she was fired after she confronted Lizzo over her accusations that the dancers were drinking before performances. A third dancer, who was ready to resign over the situation, alleged that Lizzo “aggressively approached [her], cracking her knuckles, balling her fists” and stated, “You’re lucky. You’re so fucking lucky!”

Eventually, Lizzo responded to the allegations as she opened up about the “gut-wrenchingly difficult” and “overwhelmingly disappointing” few days she had since the lawsuit was filed. In an Instagram post shared earlier this month, she slammed the “outrageous” and “sensationalized” accusations made against her.

“As an artist, I have always been very passionate about what I do. I take my music and my performances seriously because at the end of the day, I only want to put out the best art that represents me and my fans,” she wrote. “With passion comes hard work and high standards. Sometimes I have to make hard decisions but it’s never my intention to make anyone feel uncomfortable or like they are valued as an important part of the team.”

While she said she doesn’t want to be viewed as a “victim,” she said she is also “not the villain” she’s been made out to seem like.

“I am very open with my sexuality and expressing myself but I cannot accept or allow people to use that openness to make me out to be something I am not,” she said. “There is nothing I take more seriously than the respect we deserve as women in the world. I know what it feels like to be body shamed on a daily basis and would absolutely never criticize or terminate an employee because of their weight.”

Lizzo added, “I’m hurt but I will not let the good work I’ve done in the world be overshadowed by this. I want to thank everyone who has reached out in support to lift me up during this difficult time.”