Miley Cyrus Looks Back on Infamous 2009 Teen Choice Awards Performance: “It Wasn’t A Stripper Pole!”

Miley Cyrus is taking a walk down memory lane in her “Used to Be Young” TikTok series.

In a recent installment of the tell-all series, Cyrus looked back on her 2009 performance of “Party In The U.S.A” at the Teen Choice Awards, which sparked a whole lot of backlash thanks to a certain stripper pole on set — only she says it wasn’t a stripper pole at all!

In the TikTok, Cyrus shared a clip of her performance, which showed The Secret Life of the American Teenager stars Shailene Woodley and Daren Kagasoff introducing her debut performance of the hit single.

“My mom was like, ‘I think it would be really cool if she was in the trailer park, cause that’s where we really do come from,’” Miley said in an impressive impression of her mother, Tish Cyrus. “So, apparently, me dancing on an ice cream cart with a stripper pole … but it wasn’t a stripper pole — it was actually just for stability! I had a heel on!”

“Guys, what did you want from me?” she asked. “Was I really going to do my performance without dancing on top of an ice cream cart?”

She maintained that her performance was still “amazing,” though she later added, “My pitch is honestly a little off and the hat needed to go.”

Cyrus then read a headline from that time that asked, ‘Is Miley turning into the next Britney [Spears]?’

“Hopefully!” she replied. “If God is good – which we know she is.”

Miley Cyrus performing at the 2009 MTV Teen Choice Awards
Photo: Kevin Mazur/John Shearer

The hilarious series has unveiled some interesting confessions from Cyrus about her decades-long career as a child actress and popstar. In previous installments, the singer candidly spoke abour her decision to pose half-nude for the cover of Vanity Fair and her efforts to set herself apart from her Disney career as Hannah Montana.

In her TikTok series, she remembered her cover of Vanity Fair as “so upsetting” to her fans, sparking a major controversy that she and famed photographer Annie Leibovitz both had to publicly address.

“This image of me is the complete opposite of the bubblegum pop star that I had been known for being and that’s what was so upsetting,” she said of the photo shoot, which took place when she was 15. “But really brilliant choices looking back now from those people.”

Cyrus has been looking back on her career in this candid video series to promote her brand new single, “Used To Be Young.”

In a statement, she said the song was about “honoring who we’ve been, loving who we are and celebrating who we will become.”

“I feel proud when reflecting on my past and optimistic when thinking about the future,” she said. “I am grateful to my loyal fans who make my dreams a reality daily. I am sincerely thankful for the stability of your steadfast support. This song is for you.”

Cyrus’s video series can be seen on TikTok.