Stream and Scream

Olivia Rodrigo Says Watching A24’s ‘Beau Is Afraid’ Felt “Like A Bad Acid Trip”: “I Literally Had To Walk Out Of The Theater”

Where to Stream:

Beau is Afraid

Powered by Reelgood

Beau Is Afraid? More like Olivia Rodrigo is afraid!

The “Driver’s License” singer opened up to fellow music artist Phoebe Bridgers about seeing Ari Aster‘s newest A24 horror film starring Joaquin Phoenix, which hit theaters in April.

In a chat between the two musicians that took place on June 30, but was just published today in Interview Magazine, Rodrigo revealed that she is “a big thriller girl, but [she] watch[es] a few scary movies here and there.”

“I convince myself that I see shit after I come home from watching Insidious or something,” she said through laughter. “Also, I watched that new Ari Aster movie Beau Is Afraid and I got so scared. I literally had to walk out of the theater. I have never had such a visceral reaction to a movie in my life. It felt like a bad acid trip.”

Bridgers, who also was quite scared while watching the movie, expressed how glad she was that she brought it up, but had a unique reaction in comparison to Rodrigo’s.

Joaquin Phoenix in 'Beau is Afraid'
Photo: Everett Collection

“That is the scariest movie I’ve ever seen, but I was laughing the entire time,” Bridges admitted.

“That’s the only reasonable reaction,” Rodrigo replied. “Your body just can’t process it. You have to laugh.”

The film follows Beau Wasserman (Phoenix) as he embarks on a journey home to attend his mother’s funeral, but is confronted by his greatest fears along the way. Aster, who was also behind horror films Hereditary and Midsommar, told Vox that “it was very liberating to just have this invented world that allowed [him] to go wherever [him intuition led [him.”

” If some very stupid idea made me laugh, the challenge was to find a way to get it in there and have it be cohesive with the whole,” he added. “But there was nothing too crazy, too stupid, too strange. That was just fun.”

Discussion of the horror film came up after Bridgers mentioned Rodrigo’s new single “vampire” — which was released on the day of their interview — and asked what her favorite vampire movie was.

Twilight. Hands down. I know that’s the most basic one ever,” Rodrigo responded, deeming the first film of the series “an impeccable work of cinema.”

“I’ve been obsessed with it since I was so young,” she continued. “My mom found all of these drawings of vampires that I did when I was literally 4 years old. I’m like, ‘God, I was manifesting this from such a young age.'”

Rodrigo’s upcoming album Guts will be released this Friday, Sept. 8. Beau Is Afraid is available to rent or buy on Prime Video.