Ryan Seacrest Prepares To Succeed “Legend” Pat Sajak On ‘Wheel of Fortune’ By Practicing In His Living Room: “I’m Shouting Out The Puzzles”

Where to Stream:

Wheel of Fortune

Powered by Reelgood

Ryan Seacrest is gearing up for his 2024 Wheel of Fortune hosting duties and has already begun rehearsals from the comfort of his own couch.

Seacrest joined hosts Linsey Davis, Robin Roberts, and George Stephanopoulos on Monday morning’s (Sept. 18) segment of Good Morning America, where he discussed that he “can’t even believe” he will be assuming the role currently held by Pat Sajak.

“Pat is a legend,” he said of the longtime TV fixture.

Davis then asked, “Were you the kind of person who would watch and play from the couch, and how good were you?”

Seacrest replied, “What do you mean were? Still am!”

He continued, “I’m shouting out the puzzles and my dog is staring at me. I’m also practicing the hosting part, too, in my living room.”

Seacrest’s list of hosting gigs is extensive and includes all 21 seasons of American Idol and 18 years of the annual New Year’s Rockin’ Eve special. However, stepping into Sajak’s shoes following his tenure of over 40 years is no small feat.

Sajak began his final season hosting WoF last Monday (Sept. 11), and announced that he would be retiring from spinning the wheel in June. Two weeks later, Seacrest was crowned the Season 42 WoF host, which he shared he was “humbled” by on Instagram.

“Pat, I love the way you’ve always celebrated the contestants and made viewers at home feel at ease,” he added. “I look forward to learning everything I can from you during this transition.”

Wheel of Fortune airs on weeknights at 7:30/6:30c. Check out your local listings on the Wheel of Fortune website.