‘General Hospital’ Star John J. York Remains Positive After Cancer Diagnosis, Says “Many” Family Members Tested To Become Bone Marrow Donors: “I’m Excited”

Where to Stream:

General Hospital

Powered by Reelgood

General Hospital star John J. York is staying positive after recently receiving a cancer diagnosis.

The actor — who recently announced that he will be taking a break from the soap opera to undergo treatment for the two blood and bone marrow disorders he was diagnosed with in 2022 — told People, “It’s just another thing that I gotta now take care of.”

“I went through life with colonoscopies, medicines, the whole thing, and always had to be under doctor’s care, and living life. Everything’s good,” he said.

Speaking to People, he recalled the bittersweet moment he was given the diagnosis after seeing a hematologist, a doctor who specializes in blood conditions, in 2022. York claimed the doctor came in and asked to call his wife of 37 years, Vicki Manners, before giving them the diagnosis.

“I thought, ‘Well, that can’t be good,” he recalled with a laugh. “She was a mess. [The doctor] was explaining all these different things … And I didn’t understand. And Vicki finally came out and said, ‘Does John have cancer?’ And he said, ‘Yes.’”

While Manners had many questions to ask regarding the diagnosis, York only had one: “Why do I feel so good?”

“I feel great,” he explained. “I mean, I walk three miles a day and I’m in great shape. And my diet is great and my appetite is great. [The doctor] said that was because we got it early.”

The actor jokingly compared getting IV chemotherapy treatment to “waiting for a table at a restaurant.”

He has been undergoing treatment since earlier this year, but shared that they may be getting closer to finding a bone marrow donor.

“I’m excited about that,” he said. “Many of my family members tested. I believe that the age range is like 18 to 40 to join the registry at bethematch.org/matchformac.”

York recently shared Be The Match with his followers on X, the platform formerly known as Twitter, when he announced that he would be taking some time away from the show. He urged his followers to join the registry to help those in need of a donor.

Despite the diagnosis, York remains positive, he told People.

“[Vicki’s] scared, but believe it or not, I really kinda wasn’t because I feel great. Personally, I feel like it’s in God’s hands. God’s will be done. It’s gonna work out okay, one way or another,” he said. “I’m either gonna survive or I’m not. And life goes on and things are gonna be okay for everybody… Let’s just go one day at a time.”

In his last update to X, York shared that he was expecting to be gone from General Hospital for a few months, but promised he would be back on the show.

“I just want to say thanks for all the support over the years,” he said. “This isn’t goodbye, this is just so long. I’ll have to take a break for at least three, maybe four months. But I’ll be back.”