John Legend Encounters His “Taller, More Handsome” Doppelgänger On ‘The Voice’: “My Long-Lost Twin”

Where to Stream:

The Voice

Powered by Reelgood

The Voice judges were left shocked after singer Talakai took the stage for the blind auditions during Monday’s (Oct. 2) two-hour episode.

His rendition of Sam Smith’s “Stay With Me” inspired both John Legend and Reba McEntire to turn their chairs for a chance at having him on their teams. But it was his uncanny resemblance to Legend that shocked the judges.

“I’m looking at myself,” Legend said. “Like a taller, more handsome person of myself onstage.”

“What’s up, twin?” Talakai responded.

After acknowledging that he “really, legitimately looks like me,” Legend asked the singer if he gets told that often. “Everyday at work I get it, in school they used to sing ‘Ordinary People’ down the hallway all the time,” Talakai said.

“Well, I’m sorry, I’ve been haunting you,” Legend joked. “But, now you’re on The Voice and I would love to have you on Team Legend.”

Prior to his performance, Talakai explained that he was gunning for Team Legend because he had always been told they looked alike. He also revealed that he had a difficult time growing up, living in several foster homes where he experienced abuse until he was finally adopted by a close friend’s parent.

“I turned pretty early because I love the richness in your voice, the tone. I know for sure you have the ability to be so great on this show,” Legend said. “Get a little storytelling into it and it’ll make it so that you’re undeniable to anybody.”

McEntire, on the other hand, knew she “had no chance against John” in this case. “I’m already a huge fan, so welcome to The Voice,” she said.

After Talakai chose to join Team Legend, the judge even came out to take a selfie with him on stage before draping a Team Legend varsity jacket over his shoulders. “My cousin!” he said.

“Wow, one of the most handsome men I’ve ever seen, I mean honestly,” Legend later joked in a confessional. “Talakai can really sing. I really love his tone, the richness of his voice, the smoothness of his voice… Honestly, I think we’re going to have a lot of fun together.”

After Monday’s blind auditions, it looks like The Voice Season 24 is already shaping up to be an exciting one.

The Voice airs on Mondays at 8 pm ET on NBC.