‘The View’: Anne Hathaway Gets Candid About Her Early Struggles With Red Carpet Fashion: “I Didn’t Know How Not To Feel Bad About Myself”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Anne Hathaway got reflective on this morning’s episode of The View. The actor, who appeared on the daytime talk show to promote her upcoming film She Came to Me, also looked back on the start of her career and how she’s changed since her first years in the industry back in the early 2000s.

While Sunny Hostin thought she was giving Hathaway a softball question, she prompted The Princess Diaries star to get real about confidence and style with her thoughtful answer.

Hostin told her guest, “I’m just gonna get shallow, because you’ve been killing it in the fashion game forever.”

She then asked, “Do you just have fun doing it? Is it something you’re attracted to?”

Hathaway thanked the co-host for her question before giving credit to her stylist, Erin Walsh, and the “wonderful” time she’s spent working with her.

The actor then said she was “really happy” to look at recent photos of her fashion, explaining to the panel, “I’m really lucky. I’ve been doing this for a couple decades now. And when I was first starting, I didn’t know how to have fun and I didn’t always know how to enjoy it.”

She continued, “I didn’t know how to— it’s not even about — people always say, ‘Oh, confidence, do you feel good about yourself?’ When I was starting out, I didn’t know how not to feel bad about myself.

“So when I used to wear things, I would just, I didn’t know how to feel otherwise the way I just described,” she continued. “And so when I look at that, I just remember, ‘Oh yeah, I had a great time that night,’ or ‘I just really enjoyed it, I felt really lucky to wear it.’ And it just, I don’t know. It’s better, it’s a better time.”

Anne Hathaway on The View
Photo: ABC

Hathaway, who has been deemed a “bombshell” for her looks by none other than Vogue, can credit “joy, fearlessness, and fun” for her best red carpet looks, according to a Glamour interview with her Walsh, her stylist.

Walsh told the outlet in October 2022, “I think many kinds of styles of look work when you embrace your inner confidence to pull it off.”

She added, “Annie is literally glowing. That doesn’t just come from clothes. It comes through stepping into your potential and embracing possibility.” 

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.